Library Guides: OOMPH Library Resources: PHW 236A: Regulatory Science, Drug Development and Public Health: Publications &amp; Literature

Core Public Health Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to Global Health will end in 2024.
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to CINAHL will end in 2024.
CINAHL Complete includes articles, books, audiovisuals, standards of care, and more. Indexing over 5,000 journals from 1937 forward, it features PreCINAHL citations and cited references starting with 1985. Over 730 journals are available full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.

Other Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, international legal journals. (Legal Trac) [1980 - present]
Also indexes law-related articles from hundreds of business and general interest titles.
ProQuest Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains administrative law histories organized by public law. Provides search capability to facilitate research into U.S. regulatory history. Database is partially built and will be complete in early 2018. [1936-2016]
Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window
The Derwent Innovations Index indexes patents of chemical, electrical and mechanical inventions. Users may search by topic, inventor, patent assignee, patent number, classification codes, & by chemical compounds.[1963-present]
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

SOPs for Regulatory Applications for the Pharmaceutical Industry

Collection of 11 videos (with PDFs of slides) from The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection, Henry Stewart Talks on topics such as:

Effective SOP Writing
Procedural assessments of SOPs to ensure SOPs are logical and meet GXP requirements
SOP Training
Using process mapping, forms and templates for the production of SOPs

Regulatory Agencies require written procedures for all systems and operations which impact the quality and safety of pharmaceutical products. Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) provide the main forum for the documentation of a pharmaceutical company's systems and operations and compliance with GXP such as GCP, GPV, GMP and GLP.

Grey Literature

Grey Literature generally refers to publications not produced by commercial publishers, including reports (pre-prints, technical reports, market research reports, etc.), theses, conference proceedings, and other documents. They are often produced by government entities, research institutions, or NGOs/IGOs.

Public Health Subject Guides: web pages by topic. Each page consists of annotated lists of organizations, agencies, databases, and publications. Topics include:
Pharmaceuticals, Biotechnology, Medical Devices;
Healthcare Industry & Medical Services;
Federal and State Health Agencies and Resources;
and more.

Google and other search engines can be useful for finding grey literature. Improve your search using:
• Quotes for phrase searching:
"drug development"
• Site: to specify a particular site or domain:
"drug development" site:.gov (for a domain search);
"drug development" site:fda.gov (for a specific site search)
• Boolean search statements (eg, OR) (can combine with site searching):
("drug development" OR "pharmaceutical development") site:.gov