American Community Survey Data Profiles (US Census).
(2010 to present, with links to older).
Quickly get recent state, county, and city demographics, including age, race/ethnicity, income/employment, residence, languages spoken, education, and more. And here is a tool to get information on Tribal Areas.
» Get data: Census data is available from several sources. Use tidycensus (R package) to map US Census data.
AtlasPlus (National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, CDC).
(2000 to present).
Create customized tables, maps, and charts using more than 15 years of CDC’s surveillance data on HIV, viral hepatitis, STD, and TB. AtlasPlus also provides access to indicators on social determinants of health. Updated annually.
» Export data to CSV.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES).
(1959 to present).
NHANES is a survey that collects information about the health and diet of people in the United States. It is unique in that it combines a home interview with health tests that are done in a mobile examination center.
» Data is available under each survey year (eg, here is the link to 2015-2016 data).
See also nhanesA, developed to enable fully customizable retrieval of data from NHANES.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps.
(Some data go back to 1990s).
The CHRs measure health factors, including high school graduation rates, obesity, smoking, unemployment, access to healthy foods, the quality of air and water, income, and teen births in nearly every county in America. Roadmaps provide guidance and tools to understand the data, and strategies that communities can use to move from education to action.
» Get Data!
California Health Interview Survey: AskCHIS.
(2001 to present).
Quick access to state and local data on hundreds of health topics. Run your own customized search using AskCHIS (requires one-time, free registration), review publications and data summaries, and more. CHIS is the largest state health survey in the USA.
Use AskCHIS NE to get estimates on top health indicators by zip code, city, legislative district.
» Get Data!
CARES Map Room.
(Dates vary, some back to early 1900s; mostly 1980s to present).
The Map Room provides > 15,000 data layers down to census tract level for demographics, social and economic factors, physical environment, health behaviors, clinical care, and health outcomes, as well as a Community Health Needs Assessment reporting tool with 80+ health-related indicators. From the Center for Applied Research and Engagement Systems (CARES) at the University of Missouri.
» Information data sources.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (HRSA).
(2016 to present, with links to older).
Includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators from the National Survey of Children’s Health, National Health Interview Survey Child Component, Survey of Pathways to Diagnosis and Services, and National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs.
» Get Data!
Kidsdata.org.
(Dates vary; mostly previous few years).
Find, customize, and share data on more than 400 measures of child health and well being. Data are available for every legislative district, city, county, and school district in California. Easily incorporate data into reports, presentations, grant proposals, policy decisions, media stories, and advocacy work. Search by region, by demographic group, or by topic.
» Download data to Excel.
OECD Health Statistics.
(Dates vary, but some available 1960 to present).
Tables on health and health systems across OECD countries. OECD Health is an interactive database comprising data on a range of topics on the health care systems in the OECD Member countries and Accession countries, which are presented in a demographic, economic and social context. Some time series go back as far as 1960.
» Download data to Excel, CSV, PC-axis, XML.
Demographic and Health Surveys
(Dates vary, mostly 1990s to recent)
Collects, analyzes, and disseminates data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition in over 90 countries. Data is available using the STATcompiler that allows users to select numerous countries and hundreds of indicators to create customized tables.
» Data access requires one-time, free registration.
SimplyAnalytics.
(2000 to present).
A web-based data analysis and mapping application to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
NOTE: UCB access is normally limited to 10 simultaneous users, but this has been increased to 25 for the week following this training.
» Export data as a Excel, CSV, or DBF file, or shapefiles.
A note about quantiles.
HCUPnet.
(Late 1990s to present).
Online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project. It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, US DHHS.
» Get Data!
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (US DHHS).
(Dates vary; back to 1990s).
SAMHDA provides public-use data files, file documentation, and access to restricted-use data files from numerous series on substance abuse and mental health in the US.
» You can get data from links provided in each series/survey.
PeriStats.
(Dates vary, mostly 2000s to present).
PeriStats is developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center and provides access to maternal and infant health data for the United States and by state or region, including more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables.
» Export data as a CSV file.
Statista.
(Dates vary).
Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Health-related topics include health systems, care and support, the state of health, medical technology, pharmaceutical products and their market, and physicians, hospitals and pharmacies.
» Download data into spreadsheets and presentations.
California Community Burden of Disease and Cost Engine (Calif. Dept. of Public Health).
(2005 to present).
The California Community Burden of Disease Engine is a tool to explore data on burden of disease in multiple levels of geographic granularity in order to answer and generate questions about the intersection between health disparities and place. The CCB currently displays condition-specific mortality burden data at the statewide, county, community, and census tract levels, with interactive rankings, charts, maps and trend visualizations. The CCB also includes a limited set of social determinants data and describes their correlations with death outcomes.
» Click Links to other data to access the original data sources.
COVID-19 Data and Dashboards (UCSF).
Links to numerous sources of data, including clinical data, epidemiological data (local, national, global), genomic data, and research data. Many are freely available for download.
VaxView Vaccination Coverage (US CDC).
Cosists of six modules: ChildVaxView; SchoolVaxView; TeenVaxView; AdultVaxView; FluVaxView; and COVIDVaxView. The VaxView websites provide vaccination coverage data for all ages. Vaccination coverage information is used to identify areas and groups with lower vaccination coverage so public health departments, health care partners, and schools can take action. CDC uses several surveys and data sources to measure the vaccination rates for vaccines recommended for different groups.
» Links to data sources are available in the modules.
Big Data, Health Law, and Bioethics by
When data from all aspects of our lives can be relevant to our health - from our habits at the grocery store and our Google searches to our FitBit data and our medical records - can we really differentiate between big data and health big data? Will health big data be used for good, such as to improve drug safety, or ill, as in insurance discrimination? Will it disrupt health care (and the health care system) as we know it? Will it be possible to protect our health privacy? What barriers will there be to collecting and utilizing health big data? What role should law play, and what ethical concerns may arise? This timely, groundbreaking volume explores these questions and more from a variety of perspectives, examining how law promotes or discourages the use of big data in the health care sphere, and also what we can learn from other sectors.
Data Analytics in Healthcare Research: tools and strategies by 
Indigenous Statistics: a quantitative research methodology by
In the first book ever published on Indigenous quantitative methodologies, Maggie Walter and Chris Andersen open up a major new approach to research across the disciplines and applied fields. While qualitative methods have been rigorously critiqued and reformulated, the population statistics relied on by virtually all research on Indigenous peoples continue to be taken for granted as straightforward, transparent numbers. This book dismantles that persistent positivism with a forceful critique, then fills the void with a new paradigm for Indigenous quantitative methods, using concrete examples of research projects from First World Indigenous peoples in the United States, Australia, and Canada. Concise and accessible, it is an ideal supplementary text as well as a core component of the methodological toolkit for anyone conducting Indigenous research or using Indigenous population statistics.
Innovative Statistical Methods for Public Health Data by
The book brings together experts working in public health and multi-disciplinary areas to present recent issues in statistical methodological development and their applications. This timely book will impact model development and data analyses of public health research across a wide spectrum of analysis. Data and software used in the studies are available for the reader to replicate the models and outcomes. The fifteen chapters range in focus from techniques for dealing with missing data with Bayesian estimation, health surveillance and population definition and implications in applied latent class analysis, to multiple comparison and meta-analysis in public health data. Researchers in biomedical and public health research will find this book to be a useful reference and it can be used in graduate level classes.
Qualitative Data Analysis from Start to Finish by
This is the ideal book to get you up and running with the basics of qualitative data analysis. It breaks everything down into a series of simple steps and introduces the practical tools and techniques you need to turn your transcripts into meaningful research. Using multidisciplinary data from interviews and focus groups Jamie Harding provides clear guidance on how to apply key research skills such as making summaries, identifying similarities, drawing comparisons and using codes. The book sets out real world applicable advice, provides easy to follow best practice and helps you to: · Manage and sort your data · Find your argument and define your conclusions · Answer your research question · Write up your research for assessment and dissemination Clear, pragmatic and honest this book will give you the perfect framework to start understanding your qualitative data and to finish your research project.
Queer Data: Using Gender, Sex and Sexuality Data for Action by
Data has never mattered more. Our lives are increasingly shaped by it and how it is defined, collected and used. But who counts in the collection, analysis and application of data?This important book is the first to look at queer data - defined as data relating to gender, sex, sexual orientation and trans identity/history. The author shows us how current data practices reflect an incomplete account of LGBTQ lives and helps us understand how data biases are used to delegitimise the everyday experiences of queer people.Guyan demonstrates why it is important to understand, collect and analyse queer data, the benefits and challenges involved in doing so, and how we might better use queer data in our work. Arming us with the tools for action, this book shows how greater knowledge about queer identities is instrumental in informing decisions about resource allocation, changes to legislation, access to services, representation and visibility.
Smart Use of State Public Health Data for Health Disparity Assessment by
Health services are often fragmented along organizational lines with limited communication among the public health-related programs or organizations, such as mental health, social services, and public health services. This can result in disjointed decision making without necessary data and knowledge, organizational fragmentation, and disparate knowledge development across the full array of public health needs. When new questions or challenges arise that require collaboration, individual public health practitioners (e.g., surveillance specialists and epidemiologists) often do not have the time and energy to spend on them. Smart Use of State Public Health Data for Health Disparity Assessmentpromotes data integration to aid crosscutting program collaboration. It explains how to maximize the use of various datasets from state health departments for assessing health disparity and for disease prevention. The authors offer practical advice on state public health data use, their strengths and weaknesses, data management insight, and lessons learned. They propose a bottom-up approach for building an integrated public health data warehouse that includes localized public health data. The book is divided into three sections: Section I has seven chapters devoted to knowledge and skill preparations for recognizing disparity issues and integrating and analyzing local public health data. Section II provides a systematic surveillance effort by linking census tract poverty to other health disparity dimensions. Section III provides in-depth studies related to Sections I and II. All data used in the book have been geocoded to the census tract level, making it possible to go more local, even down to the neighborhood level.
Thicker than Blood: How Racial Statistics Lie by
Tukufu Zuberi offers a concise account of the historical connections between the development of the idea of race and the birth of social statistics. Zuberi describes how race-differentiated data are misinterpreted in the social sciences and asks searching questions about the ways racial statistics are used. He argues that statistical analysis can and must be deracialized, and that this deracialization is essential to the goal of achieving social justice for all.
Percentage of people worldwide polled who experienced enjoyment yesterday (from Gallup Analytics):
