It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Provides detailed information in several citations styles, including APA, MLA, and Chicago.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Publication Date: 2020
The Concise APA Handbook"Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand."--
Publication Date: 2021
AMA Manual of StyleFor decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective. In doing so, the 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content. Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals' rights in scientific research and publication. The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature. The JAMA Network, one of the most respected groups of medical publications in the world, have lent members of their expert staff of professional journal editors to the committee that has produced this edition. Extensively peer-reviewed, the 10th edition provides a welcome and improved standard for the growing international medical community. More than a style manual, this 10th edition offers invaluable guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors and researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, and members of the news media who cover scientific research confront in a society that has thrust these issues center stage.
Publication Date: 2007
Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishersProvides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations. Sample citations and citation rules for journal articles, forthcoming "in press" journal articles and books, conference publications, and online materials among other formats are provided.
Publication Date: 2015
The Chicago Manual of StyleThe Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources.
Publication Date: 2017
AP StylebookThe style of The Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With the AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which their writers and editors are famous. The AP Stylebook will help you master the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, word and numeral usage, and when to use "more than" instead of "over." To make navigating these specialty chapters even easier, the Stylebook includes a comprehensive index. Fully revised and updated to keep pace with world events, common usage, and AP procedures.
Publication Date: 2020
The Politics of Citation
"One of the feminist practices key to my teaching and research is a feminist practice of citation."
From The Digital Feminist Collective, this blog post emphasizes the power of citing.
"Acknowledging and establishing feminist genealogies is part of the work of producing more just forms of knowledge and intellectual practice."
Here's an exercise (docx) to help you in determining how inclusive you are when citing.
"Our philosophy includes small class size, careful attention to building your critical reading and thinking skills along with your writing, personalized attention, and a great deal of practice writing and revising." Website has a Writing Resources Database.
Assists graduate students in the development of academic skills necessary to successfully complete their programs and prepare for future positions. Workshops are offered on topics such as academic writing, grant writing, dissertation writing, thesis writing, editing, and preparing articles for publication, in addition to writing groups and individual consultations.
An interactive course to advance technical communications skills when speaking, reading, and writing English.
Primary audience is engineering students, but much is useful for anyone. Includes modules on listening, reading, speaking, and writing.
"The SLC Writing Program supports Cal undergraduates in their journey to become more persuasive and purposeful writers." They offer workshops, tutoring, and more, including an extensive list of Writing Worksheets on topics such as thesis, revision, punctuation, writing research papers, and more.
CDC’s Health Equity Style Guide emphasizes the importance of addressing all people inclusively, with respect, including using non-stigmatizing, bias-free language. Avoid perpetuating negative stereotypes or blaming people for their own life circumstances or health status when reporting data or information about health disparities.
Scholarly Communication Services
Scholarly Communication Servicescan help you with all your scholarly communication and publishing questions and needs. Visit their website, or reach out to firstname.lastname@example.org for help with questions on topics, including:
Copyright in research, publishing & teaching
Authors’ rights, and protecting & managing your intellectual property
Scholarly publishing options and platforms
Open access for scholarship and research data
Tracking & increasing scholarly impact
Affordable and open course content
Scholarly Communication Services provides the following services:
Individualized support & personal consultations
In-class and online instruction
Presentations and workshops for small or large groups & classes
Customized support and training for each department and discipline
Online guidance and resources
Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library