It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Excellent guide to the US Census and American Community Surveys. These have the most detailed social/economic data of the US population - current and historical data is available from the national to the block level. The Social/Economic tab has links to user-friendlier tools for data access.
Reports on many real estate related industries: real estate loans, REITs, appraisal, sales and brokerages, asset management, apartment rental, commercial leasing, land leasing, land development, storage and warehouse leasing, property management, landscape services, etc. Each industry report includes industry description, industry structure, market share, operations, cost benchmarks, outlook, life cycle, supply chains, business locations, statistics, etc. US, Global and China reports.
Also includes reports on global industries as well as industries in China. Data include market size, market share, major players, and industry trend analysis.
Industry surveys of Homebuilding, Mortgage Finance, REITs, and more. Surveys are located in the S&P Publications Search box on the NetAdvantage home page. Industries are analyzed from an investment point of view and include financial comparisons of the largest players in each industry. There is a section detailing what to look for in a company's performance for each industry. Trends and a chapter on how each industry operates.
Provides proprietary reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts. Regularly updated publications include S and P's Industry Surveys, The Outlook, Credit Week, and directories of private companies, executives, and security dealers.
Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Create a free individual account with a Berkeley email before using; does not require EZProxy.
Public company financials and filings, private company information and investment details, M&A, industry surveys, screening and charting.
S&P Capital IQ Pro, formerly known as SNL Energy and S&P Market Intelligence, can be accessed by clicking "S&P Capital IQ Pro" in the upper right after logging in.
A guide for Berkeley users can be found at https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=1189557
Replaces UC Berkeley's NetAdvantage subscription. If this link takes you to NetAdvantage instead of a login page for S&P, try restarting your browser, clearing your cache, or opening in an incognito browser.
Select the Real Estate database. Data for many countries. US data: Real estate indices (real and inflation adjusted), home sales by area, housing starts, mortgage rates, median and average housing prices, mean and average square feet, Case Schiller and Freddie Mac home price index by city, sales by financing type, housing inventory, vacancies, and more. Login anonymously (or create an account which allows you to save data and searches.)
Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedias that describe each database.
Data on all key economic indicators, housing and construction, income, cost of living, labor and employment, Zillow Real Estate Metrics. Banking and finance data includes data on mortgages, flow of funds, Freddie Mac rates, interest rates, and much more.
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Map and create reports that analyze social change based on data from the US Census and American Community
Survey - data is available for all years. Tables include demographic characteristics of an area down to the Census tract or zip code level. Age, sex, race, income, family structure, marital status, education, housing, house value, labor force, occupations, travel time to work, transportation.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Urban Land Institute is a major land use and development advocacy and research organization and publishes area-specific real estate trends.
List of useful associations in the real estate field - member based, they publish trade journals and reports that provide news, trends and statistics about their industries. They host conferences, advocate for and educate about their industry.
In dollars per square foot by type of building and US metropolitan area.
Revenue, expense, and vacancy trends,
energy consumption analysis, operating ratios and leasing commissions.
Includes medical office buildings.
Construction and building cost indices for metropolitan areas published monthly.
Select the Business Source Complete online access link. In ENR, search for title: Construction Economics. Select pdf to view.
Note:Available to currently enrolled UCB students, faculty, and staff. Off-campus users must use VPN. Select "Log in with SSO" and use your @berkeley.edu address for access.
Factset and Bloomberg are available on dedicated terminals inside Haas Computer Center. Both pull financial information from many sources into a dashboard to allow financial analysis of markets, individual companies and industries. Global in scope, both provide breaking news, financial indices, economic statistics, and other information that impacts investment such as interest rates, deal flow, availability of capital. See Cornell University's guide to using Bloomberg. You can get a Factset web account- please use your Berkeley email address to sign up. Factset has a learning module built into it that you can train yourself on as well as good online help.
Books and articles on real estate and corporate finance
Indexes trade and scholarly journals in real estate finance, investment, economics, and much more. A broad search for subject "real estate finance" or "corporate finance" (and other salient keywords) is a good starting point.
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
Part 1: Overview of real estate finance and investments. Real estate investment : basic legal concepts ; Real estate financing : notes and mortgages -- Part 2: Mortgage loans. Mortgage loan foundations : the time value of money ; Fixed interest rate mortgage loans ; Adjustable and floating rate mortgage loans ; Mortgages : additional concepts, analysis, and applications -- Part 3: Residential housing. Single-family housing : pricing, investment, and tax considerations ; Underwriting and financing residential properties -- Part 4: Income-producing properties. Income-producing properties : leases, rents, and the market for space ; Valuation of income properties : appraisal and the market for capital ; Investment analysis and taxation of income properties ; Financial leverage and financing alternatives ; Risk analysis ; Disposition and renovation of income properties ; Financing corporate real estate -- Part 5: Financing real estate development. Financing project development ; Financing land development projects -- Part 6: Alternative real estate financing and investment vehicles. Structuring real estate investments : organizational forms and joint ventures ; The secondary mortgage market : pass-through securities ; The secondary mortgage market : CMOs and derivative securities ; Real estate investment trusts (REITs) -- Part 7: Portfolio analysis and real estate funds. Real estate investment performance and portfolio considerations ; Real estate investment funds : structure, performance, benchmarking, and attribution analysis.
An Introduction to Real Estate Finance serves as the core of knowledge for a single-semester first course in real estate finance. Unlike other real estate finance textbooks, with their encyclopedic but often stale details, it combines a short traditional text with a living website. The book gives students and professors highly applied information, and its regularly updated online features makes it especially useful for this practitioner-oriented audience. It covers fundamental topics such as accounting and tax, mortgages, capital markets, REITs and more. It also addresses the 2008 financial crisis and its impact on the real estate profession. This text is a valuable companion for students of real estate finance as well as financial analysts, portfolio managers, investors and other professionals in the field. Offers a concise, efficient, "finance-centric" alternative to traditional real estate finance texts Website gives readers the tools to find current information about their own areas of specialization--a unique approach not found in other real estate finance textbooks Gives students and professors the material to examine every subject in broad and highly detailed terms
The financial deregulation of the last quarter century has meant large flows of funds around the world seeking the highest risk-adjusted return for investors. Real estate is now established as an important asset class and advances in information technology provide the necessary tools to complement global developments in real estate finance and investment. A variety of investment vehicles have emerged, andReal Estate Finance in the New Economy examines these along with financing and risk in the context of globalization, deregulation and an increasingly integrated international world economy by exploring questions like: How have real estate financial structures evolved as economies grow and become internationalised? What role do economic change and financial systems play in the development of real estate investment? Are the risks associated with the 'new economy' really new? What is the future direction for real estate financing? The authors develop an economic framework for discussions on individual financial products to examine how real estate financial structures change with economic growth and internationalisation and also to show how developments in real estate finance impact economic growth.
The essential corporate finance text, updated with new data Corporate Finance has long been a favourite among both students and professionals in the field for its unique blend of theory and practice with a truly global perspective. The fact that the authors are well-known academics and professionals in the world of mergers and acquisitions (M&A) and investment explains this popularity. This new Fifth Edition continues the tradition, offering a comprehensive tour of the field through scenario-based instruction that places concept and application in parallel. A new chapter has been added, devoted to the financial management of operating buildings that aims to answer questions such as, "to own or to rent?" "variable or fixed rents?" etc. The book's companion website features regularly updated statistics, graphs and charts, along with study aids including quizzes, case studies, articles, lecture notes and computer models, reflecting the author team's deep commitment to facilitating well-rounded knowledge of corporate finance topics. In addition, a monthly free newsletter keeps the readers updated on the latest developments in corporate finance as well as the book's Facebook page, which publishes a post daily. Financial concepts can be quite complex, but a familiar setting eases understanding while immediate application promotes retention over simple memorisation. As comprehensive, relevant skills are the goal, this book blends academic and industry perspective with the latest regulatory and practical developments to provide a complete corporate finance education with real-world applicability. Blend theory and practice to gain a more relevant understanding of corporate finance concepts Explore the field from a truly European perspective for a more global knowledge base Learn essential concepts, tools and techniques by delving into real-world applications Access up-to-date data, plus quizzes, case studies, lecture notes and more A good financial manager must be able to analyse a company's economic, financial and strategic situation, and then value it, all while mastering the conceptual underpinnings of all decisions involved. By emphasising the ways in which concepts impact and relate to real-world situations, Corporate Finance provides exceptional preparation for working productively and effectively in the field.