The Chemistry, Astronomy & Physics Library merger was completed this past spring, consolidating the print collections for astronomy, chemistry, chemical engineering, and physics. We expect the refresh of the mezzanine study area to be completed this fall.
The Engineering Library remains closed due to the Engineering Student Center construction. We expect it to reopen in Spring 2025. More information is available in the library news story about the temporary closure.
Our library hours for the fall semester are:
Please see Location + Hours for the latest information on library hours.
Cambridge Higher Education unlimited-user textbooks
The Library has started a pilot of the Cambridge Higher Education Full Collection, running through December 31, 2025. The Full Collection includes 1200 unlimited-user online textbooks and coursebooks in all disciplines.
Fire Insurance Maps Online (FIMo)
FIMo provides user-friendly access to full-color Sanborn and other fire insurance maps from roughly 1875-1950s. Maps may show building structures, building construction details, property uses, and other information. Our subscription covers California only.
GIDEON
Our new subscription to GIDEON provides data and maps on infectious diseases and outbreaks including history, geographic spread, and treatment.
Material ConneXion
Material ConneXion is a materials library of 10,000 innovation products for use in architecture, design, engineering and product design, including sustainable material alternatives to existing manufacturing supplies.
OSF Institutions
Berkeley has licensed the institutional version of OSF (Open Science Framework). OSF offers a suite of cloud-based applications that support and enable reproducible open science, including preprints, registrations and project sites. Login with your Calnet ID to access institutional features.
ASM Micrograph Database
The ASM Micrograph Database is a collection of more than 4,800 micrograph images and associated data from ASM International and the International Metallographic Society.
New e-book packages
New journals
Purchase Recommendation - we welcome your suggestions! Please contact your librarian or fill out the purchase recommendation form if you would like to suggest that we purchase a journal or book for the collection.
Introduction to Zotero
Introduction to LaTeX with Overleaf
Creating a CV in LaTeX with Overleaf
Copyright and Your Dissertation
Managing and Maximizing Your Scholarly Impact
Bay Area Open Science Group Fall Meetings - details & registration forthcoming at: https://bayareaopensciencegroup.github.io
UC Carpentries 2024 - registration
After 22 years of service, Public Health & Optometry Librarian Michael Sholinbeck retired in June. While we recruit for a new librarian, public health and optometry researchers and students can contact bios-library@berkeley.edu if they have questions.
Kathryn Nunnally joined the Sciences Division as our new Collections Project Assistant in May.
In February, Lisa Ngo took on a new role as Assistant Head of the Sciences Division and STEM Research & Instructional Services Lead. In this role, she will be coordinating and providing vision for our research and instructional services for the sciences.
The Inclusive Excellence Collection at the Engineering Library is a collaboration between the College of Engineering and the Kresge Engineering Library. The collection consists of print books and ebooks on the subject of diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIBJ), especially within STEM and higher education. The books are intended to help people develop their knowledge of DEIBJ concepts and foster an inclusive culture within the sciences.
Access the collection here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/EngineeringLibraryDEI
Note: While the Engineering Library is closed, the collection will be housed at the Earth Sciences & Map Library.
The Boldly Inclusive Leader by 
The Disordered Cosmos by As chair of the ACRL Research Planning & Review Committee, Brian was co-author of the article 2024 Top Trends in Academic Libraries published in College & Research Libraries News in June.
Sam moderated a panel, Navigating the Complexities of Open Science, at the Force11 research communication and publishing conference at UCLA in August.
Misha attended the Minnesota Institute for Early Career Librarians, a leadership development program focused on diversity, equity and justice hosted at the University of Minnesota in July.