The Engineering Library is scheduled to reopen in early April, following the completion of the Engineering Student Center construction. More information is available in the library news story about the temporary closure.
The mezzanine level of the Chemistry, Astronomy & Physics Library was refreshed with new flooring, tables, and chairs.
In preparation for the merger of the Mathematics Statistics Library into the Engineering Library, we are currently shifting collections in the Mathematics Statistics Library and interfiling our books and journals. While the shift is in progress, materials may not always be where you expect to find them. If you have problems finding any items on the shelves in the Mathematics Statistics Library, please be sure to ask for help at the desk.
Our library hours for the spring semester are:
Please see Location + Hours for the latest information on library hours.
Journal Open Access Look-Up Tool (JOLT)
California Digital Library has launched the Journal Open Access Look-Up Tool (JOLT) to enable UC-affiliated authors to determine the eligibility of a given journal for financial support under one of UC's systemwide open access publishing agreements. JOLT can be searched by journal title and ISSN, as well as well-known journal abbreviations (e.g. "PLOS" for Public Library of Science). Search results include one of three labels:
Clicking on a search result will expand it to show more details, including the specific level of funding provided, the publisher, and links to the agreement FAQ and payment workflow details on the Office of Scholarly Communication website. If a title search does not yield any results, it means the journal is not covered by an agreement.
Planet Labs satellite imagery
Daily satellite images of the Earth’s land surfaces and coastal areas. Natural color, near infra-red, and other multi-channel imagery products are available with 5m, 3.7m and 50cm ground pixel resolution. Images are exportable to GIS systems or can be viewed and analyzed using Planet's website and tools. Access is restricted to UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab faculty, staff, and students. See the Library's Remote Sensing guide for more information and a link to the required registration form.
Compendex & Inspec
As part of our serials review in 2023, we had to cancel our subscriptions to Ei Compendex (a database for searching the engineering literature) and Inspec (a database for searching the literature of physics, electrical engineering, computer science, and manufacturing engineering). However, we still retain access to the Ei Backfile (1884-1969) and the Inspec Archive (1898-1968) through Engineering Village. For current engineering research, we recommend searching Scopus, an interdisciplinary database that is particularly strong in engineering and includes recent records from Ei Compendex.
New e-book packages
New journals
Purchase Recommendation - we welcome your suggestions! Please contact your librarian or fill out the purchase recommendation form if you would like to suggest that we purchase a journal or book for the collection.
Workshops
Bay Area Open Science Group Spring Meetings
UC Love Data Week
Book Talks
Krista Anandakuttan joined the Sciences Division in November as our new Public Health & Optometry Librarian. In addition to serving as the subject librarian for public health and optometry, she will also collaborate on our instruction initiatives in the sciences. She previously worked at San Francisco State University as the Research, Outreach & Instruction Librarian, serving as liaison to the School of Nursing and the College of Health and Social Sciences. Krista has a BS in Ecology & Evolutionary Biology and a Graduate Certificate in Science Communication from the University of California, Santa Cruz and a Master of Library & Information Science from San Jose State University.
In January, Margot Hanson became our Science Instruction Librarian in the Sciences Division. In this role, she will teach library workshops, develop library instructional materials, and work closely with Krista on our instruction initiatives in the sciences. In addition, she will serve as the subject librarian for aerospace engineering, bioengineering, materials science & engineering, and mechanical engineering. Margot was most recently the Science Librarian at St. Mary's College of California in Moraga. She also has experience as the Instruction & Outreach Librarian at the California State University Maritime Academy, as the Web Services Librarian at Golden Gate University, and as the Reference & Instruction Librarian at the University of Hawai'i. Margot has a BA in English from the University of California, Berkeley and an MLIS from the University of Hawai'i at Manoa.
The Inclusive Excellence Collection at the Engineering Library is a collaboration between the College of Engineering and the Kresge Engineering Library. The collection consists of print books and ebooks on the subject of diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging (DEIBJ), especially within STEM and higher education. The books are intended to help people develop their knowledge of DEIBJ concepts and foster an inclusive culture within the sciences.
Access the collection here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/EngineeringLibraryDEI
Note: While the Engineering Library is closed, the collection will be housed at the Earth Sciences & Map Library.
Do the Work! by 
Unmasking AI by Sam will be co-chairing a new working group through Force11, Preserving Executable Research Content: Challenges, Frameworks, and Best Practices, starting in January 2025.
Margot was co-author of the article When We Went Online: Library Conference Twitter in the COVID-19 Pandemic, published in the Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly Communication in December.
Misha, Elliott and Lisa co-authored an article, Bridging Data Communities: Interoperability through inclusive, cross-institutional collaboration, published in the Journal of eScience Librarianship in December.
Brian began his term as President-Elect of the Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics (PAM) Community of the Special Libraries Association (SLA) in January.