A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals. (International Humanities Index - American Humanities Index) [1927 - present]
Includes all data from Humanities International Index. Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
An index to the research literature of religion, including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. (ATLAS) [1949 - present]
Indexes scholarly journals, books, edited volumes worldwide, and book reviews related to religion and theology, representing a wide selection of Christian traditions (including Catholic, Orthodox, Protestant, Evangelical, and Pentecostal), Islam, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Shinto, Taoism, Confucianism, and other religious traditions.
Covers the Islamic religion, and Islamic world in general.
Based on the 10-volume print encyclopedia and covers the Islamic religion and the Islamic world in general, both current and historical, including Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent, Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and other Islamic countries. Includes articles on political and religious institutions, history, topography, and distinguished Muslims both past and present.
Brill’s Encyclopedia of Sikhism aims to make available in-depth critical scholarship on all the main aspects of the Sikh traditions in a number of original essays written by the world's foremost scholars on Sikhs and Sikh traditions.
The philosophical, theological, and folk traditions of Hinduism, in a historical and contemporary context, are covered in original essays written by scholars.
The interaction of Hinduism with other religions and its spread the last two hundred years to all the continents is covered. Illustrations of maps and photographs are included. Also available in print (6 volumes).
International journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. [1970s - present]
Includes magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 190 countries. [1980 - present]
Indexes a wide range of journals, hard-to-find newsletters, reports, pamphlets, fact sheets, and guides covering a broad array of gender-related issues such as violence, economic development, health, the military, education, human rights, and law. Covers sources published by organizations around the world.
Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world. (Womens Studies International) [1972 - present]
Also indexes other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
Recommended Area Studies Databases
Africa-Wide InformationThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. (Africa-Wide NiPAD) [19th century - present]
Includes: Nordic Africa Institute Online Catalogue (NOAK); IBISCUS (1970 to 2001); School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue: Africa; Afro-Tropical Bird Information Retrieval Database; The Campbell Collections of the University of Natal, Killie Campbell Africana Library Bibliography; International Library of African Music (ILAM); African Development Database; African Journals OnLine (AJOL); South African Databases; Witwatersrand University Management Research Reports; and more.
Almandumah Arabic DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowAlmandumah is a comprehensive full text database for Arabic scholarly output. It includes almost one million items (1/3 in abstract), including about 1900 unique Arabic journals, 2500 conferences, and 200,000 dissertations from the Arab world. [1920 - Present]
Almandumah database consists of 6 specialized databases which are: AraBase for language and literature, IslamicInfo for Islamic studies and Islamic law, HumanIndex for humanities, EcoLink for economic and management studies, EduSearch for education, and Dissertations and Thesis which includes full text and abstracts for about 200,000 (1/2 in abstracts) from 170 schools across the Arab world. The database covers the Arabic scholarly output since 1920 until present.
Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL)This link opens in a new windowFull text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics. [dates vary]
Online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.
Central Daily News Archive Image 中央日報This link opens in a new windowCentral Daily News was first published in Shanghai in February 1928. Its headquarters moved to Taiwan in 1949. Central Daily News has been the official news media for the KMT (Kuomintang) government for years. FOR ACCESS: Select the "Sign in by IP address" button at the bottom of the landing page.
This newspaper provides informative reports on politics, economy, military, culture, foreign relations and the society. Its reports also captured the changes of society, tracked the interactions between China and foreign countries and the development leading up to World War II and the China Civil War. The print version of Central Daily News ceased in 2006; it is available only online since then. This online database covers page image access to this title from 1928 to 2006.
China Academic Journals 中国期刊全文数据库This link opens in a new windowA full-text journal database covering the contents of over 7,000 journals published in China. [1994 - present]
The library's subscription covers literature/ history/ philosophy; politics/ military affairs/ law; education & social sciences; and economics & management.
Chinese Studies Online (CSO) from WanfangThis link opens in a new windowFull-text Chinese journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, legislation and law from the PRC, in a wide range of subject areas and dating from 1997 to the present. (Wanfang Data)
DigiZeitschriftenThis link opens in a new windowArchive of German scholarly journals in many subjects, including literature, history, art, education, music, law, math, and the sciences. [dates vary]
Provides complete and partial coverage of over 120 core German research journals in areas such as: Arts, Comparative Literature, Economics, Geology, Germanic language and literature, Law, Mathematics, Music, Religion.
JapanKnowledgeThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to basic Japanese reference sources including encyclopedias and dictionaries (e.g., 日本大百科全書, 日本国語大辞典, 國史大辭典, Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.) as well as 東洋文庫 and 新編日本古典文学全集 series. As additional contents, online version of the journals Taiyō 太陽 (1895-1928) and Bungei kurabu 文芸倶楽部 (1895-1912), and Gunsho ruijū 群書類従 are also included.
PASCAL and FRANCIS ArchiveThis link opens in a new windowBoth bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but are freely available through INIST-CNRS. FRANCIS indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL offers bibliographic indexing of core scientific literature, and provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage for science, technology, and medicine with special emphasis on European content (1984-2015).
The PASCAL-FRANCIS Archive will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having previously cooperated with PASCAL and FRANCIS.
REDIB (Red Iberoamericana de Innovación y Conocimiento Científico)This link opens in a new windowREDIB is a platform for the aggregation of scientific and academic content in the electronic format produced in the Ibero-American context. There are currently over 2,000 journal titles indexed in this database with the full-text access.
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to comparative politics, developing nations, history and theory of political science, political psychology, political economy, public administration, and public policy. [1975 - present]
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
Full-text of reports, dispatches, correspondence, political summaries, economic analyses, and maps from the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices relating to Africa, the Americas, and the Middle East. [1834 - 1966]
From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy's defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in this resource cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent. The resource also includes a gallery of maps. Part of a larger series of documents issued by the British Government. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Digitized collection of The Confidential Print series, issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices. This series covers the Middle East, c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. [1812-1957]
Covers such events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked "Confidential Print" were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today.
Digitized collection of The Confidential Print series, issued by the UK Foreign and Colonial Offices. This series covers papers related to South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the Cold War in the 1960s. [1833 - 1969]
"Covers the South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the Cold War in the 1960s. Covering revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics. The series originated out of a need for the Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one-page letters or telegrams; others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.
A digitized collection of Great Britain's Foreign and Colonial Offices' entire Confidential Print series relating to the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. Topics covered include slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism and the nuclear bomb. The bulk of the material covers the late nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.
Indexes over 2000 monographs, books, technical reports, occasional papers, book reviews, and dissertations worldwide related to linguistics including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
[1973 - present]
Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Includes works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. [600 - contemporary]
Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
