Off campus access to the databases marked with the "lock" icon are limited to UCB users; set up instructions.
See below for article databases for finding primary sources/historical articles.
A comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. [1976 - present]
Indexes journal articles and other literature supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. (Modern Languages Association Bibliography) [1926 - present]
Indexes publications in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. [1929-1984]
Scores indicate % of critics included that rated a film positively, in the judgment of the RT staff. Each review is judged either "fresh" or "rotten." If a film has received 60% "fresh" reviews in the judgment of the staff, the movie is certified "Fresh." Note that a 90% score means that 90% of critics included by RT have given the movie a positive review, even if most of those reviews are lukewarm; a 60% score means that 60% of the critics have given the movie a positive review, even if all of those critics might have given the movie outstanding reviews.
Click on the "Top Critics" tab to find reviews by a selective subset of critics, principally those writing for major newspapers.
Metacritic includes fewer critics than Rotten Tomatoes and assigns each review a score on a scale of 100; the scores are averaged for a final score for the film.
Indexes American magazines and journals published between 1890 to 1982.
Lantern (Media History Digital Library - University of Wisconsin, Madison)
includes searchable full text of 50 early film and radio magazines, including Variety (Dec. 1905- Feb. 1926) and Photoplay (1914-1943)
