Bibliography of Asian Studies 
Citations to journal articles, and more. [1971 - present] Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
HathiTrust 
Pronounced "hah-tee". A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including millions of books scanned from UC and digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password.
JSTOR
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary] For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Project MUSE
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present] Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Archives of Asian Art ... publishes new scholarship on the art and architecture of South, Southeast, Central, and East Asia. Articles discuss pre-modern and contemporary visual arts, archaeology, architecture, and the history of collecting. Published by Asia Society. Journal Site Journal Site
Asia Major ... focuses on the history of China. Based in Institute of History and Philology of the Academia Sinica since 1998 Journal Site
Asian Anthropology ... seeks to bring interesting and exciting new anthropological research on Asia to a global audience. Editorially based in Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Japan. Journal Site Journal Site
Asia Pacific Education Review ... covers all areas of educational research, with a focus on cross-cultural, comparative and other studies with a broad Asia-Pacific context. Produced by the Education Research Institute at Seoul National University. Journal Site Journal Site
Asia-Pacific Review ... analyzes global political, economic, security, energy and environmental issues, with specific emphasis on the Asia-Pacific region. Launched in 1994 by the Nakasone Yasuhiro Peace Institute (NPI), an independent, non-profit research institute founded in Tokyo by former Prime Minister Yasuhiro Nakasone. Journal Site
Asia Policy... presents policy-relevant academic research on the Asia-Pacific that draws clear and concise conclusions useful to today’s policymakers. Published by the National Bureau of Asian Research. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Affairs ... covers the whole region of Asia - Central Asia, the Middle East, South Asia, South East Asia and East Asia. Generally consists of articles on specific countries, locales or historical episodes, including social and political perspectives, as well as contemporary affairs. Published for the Royal Society for Asian Affairs. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Affairs: An American Review ... provides in-depth analyses of political, economic, and security issues with a focus on East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Central Asia, intra-Asia relations, and U.S. ties with Asia. Examine issues relevant to current policymaking. Published by the American-Asian Educational Exchange. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Economic Journal ... provides detailed coverage of a wide range of topics in economics relating to East Asia. Published by the East Asian Economic Association. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Ethnology ... an Open Access journal, dedicated to the promotion of scholarly research on the peoples and cultures of Asia. Formerly Folklore Studies (1942-1962), Asian Folklore Studies (1963-2007). Published by Nanzan Institute of Religion and Culture in collaboration with the University of Iowa's Department of Anthropology. Journal Site
Asian Folklore Studies ... began in China in 1942, retitled as Asian Ethnology in 2008 at Nanzan University in Japan, with a collaborative relationship with the University of Iowa to co-edit the journal. Journal Site
Asian Journal of Social Science ... provides a unique forum for theoretical debates and empirical analyses. Encourages transdisciplinary analysis of contemporary and historical social change in Asia, across the social sciences, including anthropology, cultural studies, economics, geography, history, political science, psychology, and sociology. Published by the Department of Sociology, National University of Singapore. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Journal of Women’s Studies ... about women's issues in Asia and all over the world, with the view to develop women's studies in Asia and expand the horizon of western-centered women's studies. Offers research articles with a theoretical focus, voices from Asian feminist activism, country reports. Published by Ewha Woman's University Press. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Music ... devoted to ethnomusicology in Asian music, publishing all aspects of the performing arts of Asia and their cultural context. Published by the Society for Asian Music. Journal Site
Asian Perspective ... applies an Asian lens to world and comparative politics. Welcomes interdisciplinary research and is committed to promoting an exchange of ideas between scholars and policy makers. Published by the Institute for Far Eastern Studies, Kyung Nam University. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Perspectives ... leading peer-reviewed archaeological journal devoted to the prehistory of Asia and the Pacific region. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Philosophy ... an international journal concerned with such philosophical traditions as Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Buddhist and Islamic. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Social Work and Policy Review ... encourages exchanges of original ideas, rigorous analysis of experiences, innovative practice methods founded on local knowledge and skills of problem solving in the areas of social work and social policy between various countries in Asia Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Survey ... provides a comprehensive retrospective of contemporary international relations within South, Southeast, and East Asian nations. Coverage ranges in scope from diplomacy, disarmament, missile defense, military, and modernization, to ethnicity, ethnic violence, economic nationalism, general elections, and global capitalism. Published by the University of California Press on behalf of the Institute of East Asian Studies at the University of California, Berkeley. Journal Site Journal Site
Asian Theatre Journal ... dedicated to the performing arts of Asia, focusing upon both traditional and modern theatrical forms Journal Site Journal Site
Australian Journal of International Affairs ... Formerly known as Australian Outlook (1947 - 1989). Aims to publish high quality scholarly research on international political, social, economic and legal issues, especially (but not exclusively) within the Asia-Pacific region to stimulate interests in and understanding of international affairs among its members and the general public. Aims to analyse international issues for an Australian readership and to present Australian perspectives to readers in other countries. Published by the Australian Institute of International Affairs, an Australian private research institute. Journal Site Journal Site
Buddhist-Christian Studies ... a scholarly journal devoted to Buddhism and Christianity and their historical and contemporary interrelationships. Includes sections on comparative methodology and historical comparisons, as well as ongoing discussions from two dialogue conferences: the Theological Encounter with Buddhism, and the Japan Society for Buddhist-Christian Studies. Published by East-West Religions Project, University of Hawaii. Journal Site Journal Site
Bulletin of the School of Oriental Studies ... leading interdisciplinary journal on Asia, Africa and the Near and Middle East. It carries unparalleled coverage of the languages, cultures and civilisations of these regions from ancient times to the twentieth century. Published by the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Journal Site Journal Site
Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies ... Formerly known as Bulletin of the School of Oriental Studies. Journal Site Journal Site
Columbia Journal of Asian Law ... provided a forum for legal practitioners and scholars from the People's Republic of China, the United States, and elsewhere to discuss a broad range of issues relating to law in the PRC. The journal made the decision in 1996 to expand its geographical coverage to South, Southeast, and Northeast Asia. Journal Site Journal Site
Critical Asian Studies ... welcomes unsolicited essays, reviews, translations, interviews, photo essays, and letters about Asia and the Pacific, particularly those that challenge the accepted formulas for understanding the Asia and Pacific regions, the world, and ourselves. Remains true to the mission that was articulated for the journal in 1967 by the Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars. Journal Site Journal Site
Cross-Currents: East Asian History and Culture Review ... offers up-to-date research findings, emerging trends, and cutting-edge perspectives on material from the sixteenth century to the present day that have significant implications for current models of understanding East Asian history and culture Journal Site Journal Site
East Asia Forum ... issued by the Department of East Asian Studies, University of Toronto, in 1992.
East Asia Forum Quarterly ... a platform for the best in Asian analysis, research and policy comment on the Asia Pacific region in world affairs. Directed by Emeritus Professor Peter Drysdale of the Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University. Journal Site
East and West ... published by East and West Pub. Co., Vol. 1, no. 1-12; Apr. 1915-Mar. 1916. Journal Site
East & West ... an interdisciplinary social science journal published as a monthly since 1901. Focused on literature, language, philosophy, religion, history, politics, education, and journalism. Journal Site
East Asian History ... publishes scholarly research on all aspects of historical studies in East Asia. Published by the Institute of Advanced Studies, Australian National University. Journal Site
East Asian Science, Technology and Society ... brings together East Asian and Western scholars from the fields of science, technology, and society (STS). Examining issues such as human embryonic stem-cell research, family and reproductive technologies, and the globalization of Chinese medicine, the journal publishes research on how society and culture in East Asia interact with science, technology, and medicine. Journal Site Journal Site
Eastern Buddhist ... publishes on all aspects of Buddhism as well as English translations of classical Buddhist texts and works by modern Buddhist thinkers. It was begun in 1921 under the editorship of D. T. Suzuki, Eastern Buddhist Society in Kyoto. Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2
European Journal of East Asian Studies ... a global scholarly journal specializing in post-1945 East Asian studies, with a focus on East Asia’s socio-economic development, regional affairs and external relations. To promote interdisciplinary contributions in social sciences. Articles address the wider East Asian region, or sub-regions such as ASEAN/Southeast Asia, and individual countries or groups of countries. Journal Site Journal Site
Far Eastern Quarterly ... publishes the very best empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies. Coverage reaching from South and Southeast Asia to China, Inner Asia, and Northeast Asia. Journal Site Journal Site
Far Eastern Survey ... was established in 1932 as Memorandum by the Institute of Pacific Relations, American Council, but was renamed Far Eastern Survey in 1935 Journal Site Journal Site
Folklore Studies ... dedicated to the promotion of scholarly research on the peoples and cultures of Asia. Renamed Asian Folklore Studies (1963-2007) and Asian Ethnology in 2008. Published by Museum of Oriental Ethnology, Catholic University of Peking (China), 1942-1962. Journal Site Journal Site
Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies ... its mission is to disseminate original, outstanding research and book reviews on the humanities in Asia, focusing at present on the areas of China, Japan, Korea, and Inner Asia. Published by Harvard-Yenching Institute. Journal Site Journal Site
Inter-Asia Cultural Studies ... gives a voice to those concerned with Inter-Asia Processes. Includes discussion, reports and analysis from global critical circles, and especially from marginalised sites, with the aim of enhancing the communication and exchange between inter-Asia and other regions of the cultural studies world. Journal Site Journal Site
International Journal of Asian Studies ... an interdisciplinary forum for research in the humanities and social sciences. To foster multi-directional communication among the global Asian studies community. Particularly interested in interdisciplinary and comparative studies whose arguments are strengthened by rigorous historical analysis. Published in association with the Institute for Advanced Studies on Asia, University of Tokyo. Journal Site Journal Site
International Relations of the Asia-Pacific ... to bring outstanding general scholarship in international relations to readers in the Asia-Pacific; and to provide a dedicated outlet for scholars working on the international relations of the region. Focuses on: the relations between the countries within the Asia-Pacific region; the relations between the Asia-Pacific and the rest of the world; and general issues and theories of international relations that have a bearing on one or more countries of the Asia-Pacific. Journal Site
Journal of American-East Asian Relations ... a peer-reviewed quarterly journal of interdisciplinary historical, cross-cultural, and social science scholarship. The scope includes diplomatic, economic, security, and cultural relations, as well as Asian-American history. Geographical coverage includes the United States, Canada, other countries in the Americas, and East Asia, typically China, Japan, and Korea, but also the Pacific area, Australasia, Southeast Asia, and the Russian Far East. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Asian and African Studies ... a peer reviewed journal of area studies recognized for consistent scholarly contributions to cutting-edge issues and debates Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Asian History ... its geographical scope is as vast as Asia itself. Its historical scope encompasses all periods, yet with a focus on the time before 1900. Published by Harrassowitz Verlag, Wiesbaden, Germany. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Asian Studies ... publishes the very best empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies. Published for the Association for Asian Studies. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Buddhist Philosophy ... provides a forum for the academic discussion of Buddhist philosophy, which emerges as an independent discipline. Articles engage with buddhology, comparative philosophy, and Buddhist critical reflection, while discussions of concepts and arguments are highlighted. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of East Asian Archaeology ... The enormous amount of new data resulting from recent excavations taking place throughout East Asia, including China, Korea, Japan and their neighbouring countries, promise to considerably reshape our image of East Asian history. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of East Asian Linguistics ... focuses on linguistic issues as they pertain to East Asian languages Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Oriental Studies ... it is bilingual, with articles and reviews in both Chinese and English. Its area of coverage includes China, Japan, Korea and Southeast Asia; the subject matter includes both traditional and contemporary issues. Was founded in 1954, co-published by the School of Chinese, The University of Hong Kong and the Center for Chinese Language and Cultural Studies, Stanford University. Journal Site 1 Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2
Journal of the American Oriental Society ... has brought to the world of scholarship the results of the advanced researches of the most distinguished specialists in the literatures and civilizations of North Africa, the Near East, South and Southeast Asia, Inner Asia, and the Far East. Published quarterly by the American Oriental Society. Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2 Journal Site 2
Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient ... publishes original research articles in Asian, Near, Middle Eastern and Mediterranean Studies across history. Promotes world history from Asian and Middle Eastern perspectives and it challenges scholars to integrate cultural and intellectual history with economic, social and political analysis. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland ... formerly known as Transactions of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland (1824-1834), The Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland (1834-1990). Journal Site 1 Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2
Manoa ... award-winning literary journal that includes American and international fiction, poetry, artwork, and essays of current cultural or literary interest. An outstanding feature of each issue is original translations of contemporary work from Asian and Pacific nations. Journal Site Journal Site
Memorandum ... founded by the Institute of Pacific Relations, American Council in 1932. Also known as Asian Survey (1961-) and Far Eastern Survey (1935-1961). Journal Site Journal Site
Modern Asian Studies ... publishes cutting-edge research articles on the history, social anthropology, sociology, political science, and cultures of modern Asia. Covering all the regions of Asia, including Maritime Asia, and their interconnections, the journal particularly welcomes articles which deploy interdisciplinary and comparative research methods. Specialized in the publication of longer monographic essays whose theoretical claims are supported by rich empirical data. Journal Site Journal Site
News Bulletin (Institute of Pacific Relations) ... published by the Institute of Pacific Relations in 1926, renamed Pacific Affairs in 1928 Journal Site Journal Site
Pacific Affairs ... focuses on important current political, economic and social issues throughout Asia and the Pacific. Published continuously as a quarterly since 1928 under the same name, it is the oldest English-language journal with a focus on Asia and the Pacific. Journal Site Journal Site
Pacific Focus ... its scope encompasses the wide range of research interests covering security, international political economy, regionalism, environment, migration, civil society, and multi-culturalism in the Asia-Pacific region. Seeks to foster diverse perspectives, embracing all conceptual, normative, and empirical research of major sub-areas of regional political economy. Published on behalf of the Center for International Studies, Inha University, South Korea. Journal Site Journal Site
Philosophy East and West ... promotes academic literacy on non-Western traditions of philosophy. Has published the highest-quality scholarship that locates these cultures in their relationship to Anglo-American philosophy Journal Site Journal Site
Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique ... offers a forum of debate for readers, writers, scholars and others concerned with the social, intellectual and political events unfolding in east Asia within the Asian diaspora Journal Site Journal Site
Studies in Central & East Asian Religions ... casts light on religious phenomena in the area encompassing Tibet and Central Asia, Mongolia, China, Korea and Japan. It is intended to cover all aspects of religious life in the specified area. Discontinued in 2003. Journal Site Journal Site
Studies on Asia ... a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal sponsored by the Midwest Conference on Asian Affairs (MCAA), a regional conference under the Association for Asian Studies. Journal Site
Transcultural Studies ... a peer-reviewed, open-access journal committed to promoting the knowledge and research of transculturality in all disciplines. Published by the Cluster of Excellence “Asia and Europe in a Global Context: The Dynamics of Transculturality” of the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg. Journal Site
American Journal of Chinese Studies ... interested in receiving manuscripts dealing with Taiwan or China. Publishes articles in all social science disciplines, including history. A special interest in publishing humanities articles. The official publication of the American Association for Chinese Studies. Journal Site 1 Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2
China Economic Journal ... introduces readers to examination and analysis of the latest developments in the Chinese economy and government economic policies Journal Site Journal Site
China Journal / Chung-kuo yen chiu ... a cutting-edge source of scholarship, information and analysis about China and Taiwan. Interdisciplinary in scope, TCJ provides deep coverage of important anthropological, sociological, and political science topics. Published by Contemporary China Centre, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University. Journal Site Journal Site
China Perspectives / Shenzhou zhan wang ... interdisciplinary quarterly journal. Provides insightful analysis of the latest political, economic, social and cultural trends in the Chinese world. Aims to provide a scientific perspective on contemporary issues. May be of interest to anyone keen on improving their knowledge about Greater China. Journal Site
The China Quarterly ... covers all aspects of contemporary China including Taiwan. Its interdisciplinary approach covers a range of subjects including anthropology/sociology, literature and the arts, business/economics, geography, history, international affairs, law, and politics. Journal Site Journal Site
China Review International / Chung-kuo yen chiu shu p'ing ... A Journal of Reviews of Scholarly Literature in Chinese Studies. Presents timely, English-language reviews of recently published China-related books and monographs. Journal Site Journal Site
China: An International Journal ... Focuses on contemporary China, including Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan, and covers the fields of politics, economics, society, geography, law, culture and international relations. Published quarterly by NUS Press, National University of Singapore, on behalf of the East Asian Institute. Journal Site Journal Site
The Chinese Journal of International Politics ... aims to advance the systematic and rigorous study of international relations. Publishes papers based on modern methodology, research products of historical studies and policy-oriented research. Most of its articles are either related to China or have implication for Chinese foreign policy. Journal Site
Chinese Literature, Essays, Articles, Reviews / Chung-kuo wen hsüeh ... the only Western-language journal devoted to Chinese literature. Published annually with support from the University of Wisconsin. Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2 Journal Site 2
Chinese Sociological Review ... publish high-quality original works from sociologists and other social scientists in the mainland, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and abroad. To advance the understanding of contemporary Chinese society and contribute to general knowledge in the discipline of sociology. Journal Site Journal Site
Chinese Studies in History ... makes noteworthy works and important trends of historical study in the Chinese-speaking world available to English-language readers Journal Site Journal Site
Chinese Studies in Philosophy ... currently known as Contemporary Chinese Thought (1997 - current) Journal Site Journal Site
Contemporary Chinese Thought ... contains translations of articles from Chinese sources, primarily scholarly journals and collections of articles published in book form. Formerly known as Chinese Studies in Philosophy (1969 - 1997) Journal Site Journal Site
Early Medieval China ... dedicated to the transformative period roughly between the end of the Han and beginning of the Tang eras (ca. 220–589). Explores all aspects of Chinese history, literature, society, religion and thought, and material culture of China's early medieval age. Journal Site Journal Site
International Journal of China Studies ... published by the Institute of China Studies, University of Malaysia
Journal of Chinese Cinemas ... devoted to the study of Chinese film, drawing on the recent world-wide growth of interest in Chinese cinemas Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Chinese Overseas ... deals with Chinese overseas throughout the world, and the communities from which they trace their origins. Examines Chineseness in its many diverse settings. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Chinese Political Science ... emphasizes Chinese domestic politics and foreign policy in comparative perspectives. Features special issues, review essays, and research papers on different aspects of contemporary China. Recently accepted into SSCI, Clarivate (formerly Thomson Reuter) Social Sciences Citation Index. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Chinese Religions ... the longest-standing journal in the field of Chinese religions, covering all aspects of Chinese religions. Published in affiliation with the Society for the Study of Chinese Religions (SSCR). Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Contemporary China / Dang dai Zhongguo ... the only English language journal edited in North America that provides exclusive information about contemporary Chinese affairs for scholars, business people and government policy-makers Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Current Chinese Affairs ... focuses on current developments in Greater China. Peer reviewed, Open Access academic journal published by the GIGA Institute of Asian Studies, Hamburg in cooperation with the National Institute of Chinese Studies, White Rose East Asia Centre at the Universities of Leeds and Sheffield. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Modern Chinese History ... focuses on the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. It aims to promote research on modern Chinese history by advancing discussion of political, economic, intellectual, cultural, and military history. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Sung-Yuan Studies ... promotes scholarship in all disciplines related to middle period China, with an especial focus on the Song, Liao, Jin, Xia, and Yuan dynasties Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of the Hong Kong Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society ... contains a fascinating collection of articles on the history and culture of China and Asia, with special reference to Hong Kong which includes historical buildings, social organizations, popular beliefs, vegetation, fauna and change and development Journal Site Journal Site
Late Imperial China / Qing shi wen ti ... the principal journal for scholars of China’s Ming and Qing dynasties. Formerly called Ch'ing-shih wen-t'i. Journal Site Journal Site
Ming Studies ... journal of the Society for Ming Studies, a non-profit academic organization devoted to the dissemination of knowledge about the Ming period in Chinese history (1368-1644). Presents the scholarship on all aspects of Chinese society from the fourteenth through the seventeenth centuries. Journal Site Journal Site
Modern China ... an indispensable source of scholarship in history and the social sciences on late-imperial, twentieth-century, and present-day China Journal Site Journal Site
Modern Chinese Literature and Culture / Zhongguo xian dai wen xue ... is devoted to the culture of modern and contemporary China, with "China" understood not in the narrow, political sense. Publishes on literature of all genres, film and television, popular culture, performance and visual art, print and material culture, etc. Formerly known as Modern Chinese Literature (1984-1998). Journal Site Journal Site
Monumenta Serica / Huayi xuezhi ... promotes intercultural communication in cooperation and dialogue with Chinese and Western scholars. Covers all relevant fields of Sinology, including: Chinese history, language, literature, philosophy, Chinese religions and their history, mission history, art, etc. Published for the Monumenta Serica Institute, an institute which testifies to the vivid interest of the Society of the Divine Word (S.V.D.) Journal Site Journal Site
Nan Nü: Men, Women, and Gender in Early and Imperial China ... features original studies related to men, women, and gender in the fields of Chinese history, literature, linguistics and language, anthropology, archeology, art and music, law, philosophy, medicine/science, and religion Journal Site Journal Site
T'oung Pao ... the leading scholarly journal on all aspects of traditional China since it was founded in 1890 Journal Site Journal Site
Taiwan Literature, English Translation Series / Taiwan wen xue ying yi cong kan ... introduces the voices of Taiwan literature as expressed in recent publications by Taiwanese writers and scholars. Published by the Center for Taiwan Studies, University of California, Santa Barbara. Journal Site
Tang Studies ... a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary publication of the Tang Studies Society. Major disciplines regularly represented in the journal include literature, history, religious studies, and art history. Initially conceived in 1982 as the Tang Studies Society’s newsletter. Journal Site Journal Site
Tibet Journal ... features articles on Tibetan history, art, philosophy, literature and language, and includes book reviews. It also publishes articles related to Nepal, Bhutan, Mongolia and the Trans-Himalayan regions. Journal Site 1 Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2
Twentieth Century China ... publishes new research on China’s long twentieth century. Encompasses a wide range of historical approaches in its examination of twentieth-century China: among others, social, cultural, intellectual, political, economic, and environmental. Journal Site Journal Site
Washington Journal of Modern China ... emphasis on contemporary Chinese affairs, including scholarly articles on politics, economics, military, and environment. Features also less formal material such as the transcripts from discussions and roundtable events, travel observations, and, as before, book reviews. An annual scholarly publication of the U.S.-China Policy Foundation. Journal Site
Yishu: Journal of Contemporary Chinese Art ... focuses on Chinese contemporary art and culture Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2
Asia Pacific Journal: Japan Focus ... a peer-reviewed on-line publication providing critical analysis of the forces shaping the Asia-Pacific and the world Journal Site
Contemporary Japan ... promotes the publication of recent empirical findings and innovative theoretical approaches, explicitly including comparative and interdisciplinary studies Journal Site Journal Site
Japanese journal of religious studies ... an Open Access Journal. with all content freely downloadable. Aims for a multidisciplinary approach to the study of religion in Japan. Published by the Nanzan Institute since 1981. Journal Site
Early Modern Japan ... publishes scholarly essays, translations, essays on teaching about early modern Japan, academic news, and book reviews. Publication of the Early Modern Japan Network (EMJNet), an interdisciplinary, international community of specialists of early modern Japan (ca. late 16th to late 19th century). Affiliated with the Northeast Asia Council of the Association of Asian Studies. Journal Site
Electronic Journal of Contemporary Japanese Studies ... an international academic journal in the Social Sciences and Humanities that publishes research and scholarly writing on all issues related to contemporary Japan Journal Site
International Journal of Japanese Sociology... aims to further the interests of the Japan Sociological Society, the only nationwide organization of Japanese sociology. and to promote and develop sociological studies in Japan Journal Site Journal Site
Japan Advertiser ... once hailed as “the Far East’s premier English language newspaper,” 1929-1932. Was a hub of news written by and for missionaries, diplomats, merchants and journalists who were based in Japan in the early half of the 20th century. Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2
Japan Echo ... initially published in print form by Japan Echo Inc. between 1974 and 2010. Consisting mainly of translations into English of magazine and news articles originally published in Japanese. Was launched with the support of Japan's Ministry of Foreign Affair. Journal Site
Japan Forum ... the leading European journal in the multidisciplinary field of Japanese Studies. Publishes original research in subject areas ranging from archaeology, language, literature, philosophy and culture to history, economics, politics, international relations and law. Journal Site Journal Site
Japan Quarterly ... was designed to present Japanese views to the English-speaking world. Covered national politics, economics, diplomatic endeavors, social and cultural events in an easily accessible format. Articles often written by scholars in the field. Special features included a chronology of recent events and translations of Japanese literary works. Journal Site
Japan Review: Bulletin of the International Research Center for Japanese ... published by the International Research Center for Japanese Studies. Publishes shorter research notes, review articles as well as annotated translations of important texts Journal Site
Japanese Journal of Political Science ... publishes original theoretical and empirically tested political science research. Open to single country or comparative studies, and particularly studies that draw on interdisciplinary approaches to political science questions. Journal Site Journal Site
Japanese Language and Literature ... dedicated to teaching & scholarship & to the exchange of information among teachers & other professionals to help broaden & deepen knowledge and appreciation of Japan & its culture. Published by the Association of Teachers of Japanese. Journal Site
Japanese Studies ... publishes scholarly articles on various aspects of Japan, as well as book and film reviews. Regularly publishes guest-edited thematic issues on such themes as postwar politics, environmental issues, literature, citizenship, the legal system, modern technology, management, Japanese language teacher education, and popular culture. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Japanese & Korean Cinema ... a fully refereed forum for the dissemination of scholarly work devoted to the cinemas of Japan and Korea and the interactions and relations between them Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Japanese Studies ... publishes the results of scholarly research on Japan in a wide variety of social science and humanities disciplines, as well as translations of articles from Japanese and substantive book reviews. Published by the Society for Japanese Studies. Journal Site Journal Site
Monumenta Nipponica ... one of the oldest English-language academic journals in the field of Asian studies. Carries original scholarly contributions on premodern and modern history, literature, art history, religion, and thought; translations of important Japanese literary and historical sources; and authoritative reviews of recent books on Japan. Founded in 1938 and published semiannually by Sophia University. Journal Site Journal Site
Review of Japanese Culture and Society ... devoted to the scholarly examination of Japanese art, literature, and society. Provides a venue for the encounter of diverse perspectives on various aspects of Japanese culture and society. Published annually by the Center for Inter-Cultural Studies and Education, Josai University. Journal Site Journal Site
Social Science Japan Journal... publishes scholarly articles on modern Japan. All social science disciplines (anthropology, economics, history, law, political science, and sociology) are represented, including studies of Japan’s international relations and comparisons with other countries. Journal Site Journal Site
U.S. Japan Women's Journal. English Supplement / Nichi-Bei Josei Janaru ... to exchange scholarship on women and gender between the U.S., Japan and other countries, to enlarge the base of information available in Japan on the status of American women as well as women in other countries, to disseminate information on Japanese women to the U.S. and other countries, and to stimulate the comparative study of women's issues. Co-produced by the Josai International Center for the Promotion of Art and Science and the Purdue University Department of History. Journal Site Journal Site
Acta Koreana ... an international journal of Korean Studies published in English by Academia Koreana, Keimyung University, Daegu, Korea Journal Site
Asian Women ... the official journal of the Research Institute of Asian Women. Is supported by Sookmyung Women's University and the National Research Foundation of Korea Grant funded by the Korean Government (MOE). Journal Site
Azalea: Journal of Korean Literature & Culture ... promotes Korean literature among English-language readers Journal Site Journal Site
East Asian Review ... published by the Institute for East Asian Studies, Seoul, Korea
International Journal of Buddhist Thought & Culture ... to promote and develop Buddhist studies. Published by Dongguk University, one of the few Buddhist affiliated universities in the world Journal Site
International Journal of Korean History ... promotes original research, new analyses and interpretations through articles, book reviews, and translated scholarship to its international authors and readers, and is committed to the development of Korean studies both in and outside of Korea. Published by the Center for Korean History at Korea University Journal Site
International Journal of Korean Studies ... publishes articles that address a broad range of topics related to Korea including foreign relations, national security, inter-Korean relations, the U.S.-Korean security alliance, domestic politics, Korean economy, society, and culture, Korean heritage, and relations between countries in the region. Published by the International Council on Korean Studies (ICKS) composed of scholars from universities and research institutes in the United States and Korea. Journal Site
The Journal of East Asian Affairs ... focuses on the contemporary issues related to the East Asia in the fields of international relations, economics, social and security aspects. It has around 1,800 worldwide subscriptions, primarily among academics, government officials, and journalists. Published twice a year by the Institute for National Security Strategy (INSS). Journal Site 1 Journal Site 2 Journal Site 2
Journal of Economic Research ... provides an outlet for publication in all theoretical and empirical aspects of economics, financial economics and related areas. Published by the Hanyang Economic Research Institute with the collaboration with Hanyang University College of Business and Economics. Journal Site
Journal of Korean Religions ... the only English-language academic journal dedicated to the study of Korean religions. Aims to stimulate interest in and research on Korean religions across a range of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Launched in 2010 by the Institute for the Study of Religion at Sogang University. Journal Site Journal Site
Journal of Korean Studies ... is dedicated to quality articles, in all disciplines, on a broad range of topics concerning Korea, both historical and contemporary that take into account the literature in both Korean and English. Was founded in 1969 by the Korean Studies Society, and is now sponsored by the Center for Korean Research, Columbia University. Journal Site Journal Site
Korea Focus ... a monthly webzine and a quarterly journal, featuring commentaries and essays on Korean politics, economy, society and culture, as well as relevant international issues. The articles are selected from leading Korean newspapers, magazines, journals and academic papers from prestigious forums. Journal Site
Korea Journal ... founded in 1961 with the ultimate aim of globally promoting all facets of Korean Studies. It is a medium for intellectual dialogue and exchange between Korean and foreign scholars in the field of Korean Studies. Includes articles, debates, book reviews and book notes. Published by the the Academy of Korean Studies. Journal Site
Korean Journal of Policy Studies ... publishes original articles on a broad range of issues in public administration and public policy. Published by Graduate School of Public Administration (GSPA), Seoul National University. Journal Site
Korean Literature Today... Published by the Korean Centre, International PEN, Korea Literature Translation Institute
Korea Observer ... research articles are contributed by scholars and experts on various subjects, such as Korean political, economic, social, and cultural issues, as well as Korean unification, North Korea, and Korea’s foreign relations. Published by the Institute of Korean Studies.
Korean Anthropology Review: A journal of Korean anthropology in translation ... introduces Korean anthropological scholarship to international audiences, by carrying English translations of Korean-language articles previously published in Korean anthropology journals. Published by the Department of Anthropology at Seoul National University. Journal Site
Korean Social Science Journal ... aims to contribute to the Korean social sciences in terms of theory as well as methodology. It also aims to play a role of informing scholars and policymakers abroad of research findings in Korean social sciences. Published by Korean Social Science Research Council, Korean National Commission for UNESCO. Journal Site Journal Site
Korean Social Sciences Review ... an e-journal which selects and translates social scientific articles on Korean society recently published in Korean academic journals. Published by the Center for Social Sciences, Seoul National University. Journal Site
Korean Studies ... seeks to further scholarship on Korea by providing a forum for discourse on timely subjects, and addresses a variety of scholarly topics through interdisciplinary and multicultural articles, book reviews, and essays in the humanities and social sciences. Edited at the Center for Korean Studies, University of Hawai‘i. Journal Site Journal Site
Koreana ... Free E-Journal. Published by International Cultural Society of Korea. Journal Site
On Korea ... diverse perspectives on original subjects of current interest to Korea watchers. Academic Paper Series published by Korea Economic Institute of America. Journal Site
The Review of Korean Studies ... Published by the Academy of Korean Studies. Journal Site
Seoul Journal of Korean Studies ... strives to present important new research on Korea in English, by scholars from Korea and other countries. Published by the Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies, Seoul National University. Journal Site Journal Site
Sungkyun Journal of East Asian Studies ... promotes interdisciplinary research related to the region of East Asia. Published by the Academy of East Asian Studies (AEAS) at Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul. Journal Site
