Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

Theater and Performing Arts: Playscripts, Texts

Online Playscripts / Texts

Theatre Online. Critical reference works about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts, and related information covering the US and Canada together with online texts. Collections include:

Asian American Drama (250+ full text plays)

Black Drama (1200+ full text plays)

Latino Literature (includes 375+ full text plays)

North American Indian Drama (250+ full text plays)

North American Women's Drama (1000+ full text plays)

Twentieth Century North American Drama (825+ full text plays)

Literature Online—Drama. Key criticism and reference resources together with works of English and American drama, including the following text collections:

English Verse & Prose Drama (3,900+ full text plays)

American Drama, 1714–1915 (1500+ full text plays)

Twentieth-Century Drama (300+ authors...)

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare. Eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. Includes more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Drama Online (2300+ full-text plays). Online play texts, audio and video productions, and secondary sources for the study and performance of drama. Collections include playtexts from Methuen Drama, Faber and Faber, Arden Shakespeare, and Nick Hern.

Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro (800+ full text plays). Full text plays written by 16 Spanish dramatists of the 16th and 17th centuries (1500-1699). 

Bertolt Brechts Werke. Electronic edition of Brecht's works based on the six-volume Bertolt Brecht-Ausgewahlte Werke in sechs Banden-Jubilaumsausgabe um 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske, and Jan Knopf. Includes brief notes on each text.

Playscripts in Anthologies and Collections

Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Since 1900. John H. Ottemiller.  Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1988.  Doe Reference PN1654.A12.O7 1988

Index to plays in periodicals. Dean H. Keller. Metuchen, N.J : Scarecrow Press, 1979.  Doe Reference PN1721.A12 .K4 1979  & Main Stacks. See also: Index to plays in periodicals, 1977-1987.  Dean H. Keller. Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1990. Doe Reference PN1721.A12 K4 1990  & Main Stacks

Also useful, though a reflection of collections at Portland State University, is:

Finding Monologues / Dialogues

1.  Search Play Index, described above, by number of characters, "1" or "2."  From the dropdown menu select "CastTotal" and "CastMale" or "CastFemale" and enter a number. Play Index will also allow you to limit a search by Genre and Subject.

2. Use UC Library Search with the keyword "monologues" or "dialogues" or, for greater accuracy, in an Advanced Search select "Subject" as the field in the drop-down box and enter "monologues" or "dialogues." The results will be mostly collections of various types, so you may wish to add search terms to narrow the focus.

Electronic books include:

Monologues for actors of color: women. Roberta Uno, ed. with M. Odette. NY: Routledge, 2016. 

Monologues for actors of color: men. Roberta Uno, ed. with M. Odette. NY: Routledge, 2016. 

Indexes include:

The ultimate scene & monologue sourcebook : an actor's guide to over 1,000 monologues and scenes from more than 300 contemporary plays. Ed Hooks, ed. New York : Back Stage Books, 2007.  Main Stacks PN2080.A12 H66 2007 

Smith and Kraus monologue index. Karen Morris, ed. Lyme, NH : Smith and Kraus, 1999.Main Stacks PN2080 .S6 1999  

Guide to monologues, women : an index of over 800 monologues from classical and modern plays. Robert Emerson, Jane Grumbach, eds. New York : Drama Book Publishers, c1988. NRLF: PN2080.A12 G85 1988 c.11

Guide to monologues, men : an index of over 800 monologues from classical and modern plays. Robert Emerson, Jane Grumbach, editors. New York: Drama Book Publishers, c1988.NRLF: PN2080 .G84 1988 c.11