Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

Using Aeon to Request Materials at The Bancroft Library: How to Request Bancroft Materials from the Library Catalog (UC Library Search)

This guide provides an introduction to Aeon, the special collections registration and requesting tool, at The Bancroft Library

How to Request Bancroft Materials from UC Library Search

1. Search UC Library Search to locate materials.

  • Please talk to a Reference Librarian or email us at bancref@library.berkeley.edu if you need help finding materials.

2.Select one of the LOCATION ITEMS to see the collection volume listing for each.

When finding archival material within UC Library Search you may need to click the SHOW MORE ITEMS button to find the volume or container you are looking for.

3. Click on the SPECIAL COLLECTIONS REQUEST link to initiate your request in Aeon.

NOTE: The Request NRLF Article/Chapter Scan button will not allow you to submit a request, as the function is disabled. 

4. Log in to Aeon using your CalNet credentials (UC Berkeley Researchers) or your Aeon username and password (Non-UC Berkeley Researchers).

  • If you do not have an Aeon account, it's easy to sign up! Follow the steps in the Register section of this guide.

5. Review the information in the New Request form and make any necessary changes.

6. Make sure the Volume/Container field is complete (if applicable)

  • Please only include ONE container per request form. Items are paged individually so must each have their own request form. If you need to request multiple containers from the same collection, please use the Clone Request feature.

7. Add any notes to Library staff in the Notes for Library Staff box.

8. Choose whether you want to place the request now (Submit Request) or if you want to save the request for later (Save Request).

9. Click "Submit Request" to confirm.

For Class Instructors

Interested in bringing your class to view Bancroft collections? 

Please contact our Information and Instruction Specialist to arrange materials for your visit. Do not submit your requests via Aeon.

More information about Classes at The Bancroft Library

Requesting Tips

What If There Is No "SPECIAL COLLECTIONS REQUEST" Link?

Collections that are unprocessed and unavailable cannot be requested. Please follow the link in the UC Library Search record to complete the "Notice of Interest in Unprocessed Collections" form.

If the material is processed and unrestricted, but there is no "Special Collections Request" link, please use the manual request form available in your Aeon account.

Schedule Retrieval and Keep for Review

Select Submit Request if you know the date you will come to the Library to view the material.

Materials will be retrieved for you and placed on hold by the first day of your visit. Please make sure to arrive on your scheduled date of visit. If you do not visit the Library to view your requested items, they will be returned to the stacks or to the off-site storage facility. If you need to reschedule your visit, just let us know! Send an email to banccirc-library@berkeley.edu. 

Choose Save Request if you do not know the date you will visit the Library. 

Your request will be saved, but the materials will not be retrieved. When you are ready to schedule your visit, you can update the request with the date. Please update your request in advance, if possible. See How to Use the Save Request Option to Save Requests for Later.

Aeon Help

Help! Who do I contact if I have a question about Aeon?

Please send an email to banc-aeon@berkeley.edu. Please note that emails sent to this address can only be answered during normal Library business hours, Monday-Friday between 10:00am - 5:00pm. 

Print or Download This Page as a PDF

To print this page or download as a PDF, please click the "Print Page" link at the bottom of this page.