Skip to main content

Law & Legal Studies Research Guide: Books and eBooks

This guide provides a quick and easy access to the most use resources in Legal Studies.

Books Social Sciences

Books. Search the UC Libraries' catalogs to find both e-books and books in print at UCB. The Oskicat catalog searches the UC Berkeley collection.  Melvyl searches the UC-wide collections.  UC has purchased several e-book collections that can be searched individually. See UCB's e-book collections for links to e-books by publisher/vendor. Each has its own search engine.  Most e-book collections are multi-disciplinary. Use UC's excellent Interlibrary Loan service for anything you can't find.

Google Books

Why use Google Books? Library catalogs (like OskiCat) don't search inside books; using a library catalog, you can search only information about the book (title, author, Library of Congress subject headings, etc.).  Google Books will let you search inside books, which can be very useful for hard-to-find information.  You can then use Google Books' Find in a Library link to locate the book in a UC Berkeley library, or search OskiCat to see if UC Berkeley owns the book.Try it now:

 

Discover more about using Google Books and other Google products though the Library's Google Research Guide.
 

Find eBooks Related to Legal Studies

The Library offers over 100 e-book and e-text collections in specific subject areas. E-books in collections marked * are also available through OskiCat and Melvyl. You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."

Find Dissertations

There are a couple ways to find and access dissertations done at UC Berkeley and beyond.

Tangible Full-text Access: Online full-text of UC dissertations can be found by searching Dissertations and Theses above, and will also appear in Library catalog search results. UC Berkeley dissertations in print prior to 1996 may be found by searching the Library catalogs. Tangible dissertations done at other UC campuses prior to 1996 or outside the UC system must be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

You may also limit a search in OskiCat to dissertations by changing the drop down from "Entire Collection" to "Dissertations/Theses":

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.