A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works. [1800 - 1926]. Access courtesy of the Law Library.
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and over 21,000 works.
A broad range of American legal manuscripts and papers from Harvard Law Library. Includes the papers of Felix Frankfurter, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., Roscoe Pounds, Louis Brandeis, the Sacco-Vanzetti case, and other legal documents.
Consists of 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library, including the papers of Albert Levitt, Felix Frankfurter, Livingston Hall, Louis D. Brandeis, Richard H. Field, Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr., Roscoe Pound, the Sacco-Vanzetti Case, Sheldon Glueck, William H. Hastie, and Zechariah Chafee. Together, the papers of Frankfurter and Brandeis provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919-1961. The papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. include his correspondence from 1861-1935. Holmes was a prolific and brilliant correspondent and his letters are an extraordinary record of a wide-ranging and imaginative intellect. The Sacco-Vanzetti papers offer an inside view of the legal strategy in this controversial case.
Includes the NAACP's papers from the Scottsboro case, its anti-lynching investigative and legislative files, and records documenting discrimination in the criminal justice system.
The focus of this module is on the efforts of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) to combat lynching, mob violence, discrimination in the criminal justice system, and white resistance to civil rights efforts. A particularly rich set of records in this module is the NAACP file on one of the most celebrated criminal trials of the 20th century--the case of the Scottsboro Boys. These files are supplemented by materials on segregation and discrimination complaints regarding public accommodations and recreational facilities sent to and investigated by the NAACP, and records on discrimination in employment.
Includes 104 ProQuest microfilm collections; records of the Associated Press's Saigon Bureau, Military Assistance and Advisory Command, Vietnam; and National Security Files from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford administrations.
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
The digital archive of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), covering 1912-1990.
For most of the twentieth century the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against government. Its a leader in the defense of the freedoms of speech and press, the separation of church and state, the free exercise of religion, due process of law, equal protection of the law, and the privacy rights of all citizens. Scholars and students of 20th Century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
