Skip to main content
Background Sources - Examples
These are just a few examples of possible background sources on the general subject of Social Protest. To find more, search OskiCat by keywords (example: civil rights encyclopedias, feminis* dictionaries, etc.) or browse the reference collections of Doe Library and the Ethnic Studies Library.
Note that in OskiCat, "Doe Reference - Reference Hall" refers to the hall that includes the reference desk; "Doe Reference" refers to the North Reading Room; see floor plan.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Publication Date: 2004-08-10
From abolition and woman suffrage, to civil rights and the minimum wage, to the campaigns for clean air and clean water, struggles to mobilize groups to improve society and promote justice are among the enduring themes of American history. Whether one is studying economics, labor, government, politics, current events, or global issues, it is impossible to understand the nineteenth and twentieth centuries without understanding the role of social movements in the United States. This four-volume set examines every significant social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures. The set also examines the interrelationships among different movements, and how they shaped American politics, culture, and society. Written for readers at all levels, and geared directly to the high school social studies curriculum, Encyclopedia of American Social Movements provides biographical portraits of all the key figures and leaders of the nation's social movements and also includes a wide variety of original documents.
Civil Rights in the United States
Publication Date: 2000-02-18
This work examines the efforts of our diverse nation to secure civil rights for its entire people including African Americans, Native Americans, Chicanos, women, Asian Americans, workers, gays and lesbians, children, seniors and numerous others. Covering the period from 1865 to 2000, the set features more than 700 entries on civil rights and other organizations; political and social movements; legislation and government programs; court cases; overall concepts; cultural and educational institutions; as well as, film, literature, music and art.
The Sixties in America
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
The Sixties in America surveys the events and people of the 1960's. The set not only provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's that give the decade its distinctive character-but also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics and gender issues. The set looks at the most important people and events in the arts, media, music and sports and covers the headline-grabbing news items of the period.
The 1960's Counterculture in America
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
"In The ABC-CLIO Companion to the 1960s Counterculture in America, author Neil A. Hamilton systematically illuminates the social, cultural, and political revolution with entries covering groups such as the hippies, Diggers, Yippies, and Weathermen; individuals including Abbie Hoffman, Andy Warhol, Russell Means, and Stokely Carmichael; and events such as Watts, the Tripps festival, Woodstock, and various "be-ins."" "Broadly defining the counterculture as any cultural or political challenge to mainstream values and practices of the day, Hamilton traces the counterculture's spread across America, far beyond its San Francisco Bay Area origins. He also examines the sweeping changes in the period's music, art, clothing, language, and personal practices." "Perfect for high school, college, and public libraries, this unique encyclopedia's complete compilation of the 1960s upheaval will also be of special use to students of sociology, recent U.S. history, and popular culture."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
The Columbia Guide to America in The 1960s
Publication Date: 2001-05-29
The 1960s continue to be the subject of passionate debate and political controversy, a touchstone in struggles over the meaning of the American past and the direction of the American future. Amid the polemics and the myths, making sense of the Sixties and its legacies presents a challenge. This book is for all those who want to take it on. Because there are so many facets to this unique and transformative era, this volume offers multiple approaches and perspectives. The first section gives a lively narrative overview of the decade's major policies, events, and cultural changes. The second presents ten original interpretative essays from prominent historians about significant and controversial issues from the Vietnam War to the sexual revolution, followed by a concise encyclopedia articles organized alphabetically. This section could stand as a reference work in itself and serves to supplement the narrative. Subsequent sections include short topical essays, special subjects, a brief chronology, and finally an extensive annotated bibliography with ample information on books, films, and electronic resources for further exploration. With interesting facts, statistics, and comparisons presented in almanac style as well as the expertise of prominent scholars, The Columbia Guide to America in the 1960s is the most complete guide to an enduringly fascinating era.
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Publication Date: 1997-10-23
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America is a comprehensive, well-organized reference source on the human rights and civil liberties that are legally recognized in the United States. Presented in three volumes, the 677 entries address civil rights issues from a variety of perspectives, such as race, gender, age, medical status or conditions, physical and mental challenges, group membership, religion, and many others. The practical A-Z format makes it especially helpful for students to navigate the enormous amount of information that exists on this important topic.
Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights
Publication Date: 1992-05-30
The African-American's struggle for freedom and equality has been one of the truly heroic episodes in American history. Yet, until now, there has been no reference book presenting an overview of the century-long struggle for civil rights under a single cover. This encylopedia fills that void.
Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
Publication Date: 2000-05-30
Mexican Americans, like many other Americans, have a long history of struggle for equality and civil rights. Yet only in recent decades has that history begun to be included as part of mainstream American history. Bringing together a wealth of information on the Mexican American struggle for civil rights, this authoritative encyclopedia provides factual up-to-date information on the concepts, issues, plans, legislation, court decisions, events, organizations, and people involved in that long fight. It includes such leading figures as Corky Gonzales, Hector Perez GarcIa, Jovita Idar, and Alonso Perales, as well as many secondary leaders, and is rounded out with objective discussions of such topics as leadership, the movimiento, lynching, political exclusion, voting, and stereotyping. Appendices include a chronology and several basic documents critical to an understanding of the Mexican American Civil Rights struggle.
The first comprehensive encyclopedia on this aspect of Mexican American history, the book fills a noticeable gap in the literature. It includes more than 300 entries, six appendices, sources of additional information, cross-referencing, and a detailed index that makes the history readily available. The book is a valuable resource for anyone interested in the Mexican American experience.
Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States
Publication Date: 2002-04-30
Focusing primarily on the late-20th-century US, Baer's encyclopedia further develops information in existing reference works on birth control, abortion, and women's rights. Multiparagraph to multipage articles consider not only laws, court cases, political attitudes, technological advances, and prominent activists and organizations, but also experiences of various racial, ethnic, age, class, ability, and religious groups concerning issues related to reproduction.
The Women's Movement Today
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
This is an essential reference work on young feminism today. The second wave of feminism of Gloria Steinem and Betty Friedan has given way to the dynamic next generation, the third wave, now 15 years old. The Women's Movement Today introduces the third wave's key issues, members, visions, writings, and more - with essay entries on subjects from abortion to 'zines. The scope of the more than 200 encyclopedia entries is multidisciplinary and multicultural, inclusive of diverse gender orientations and sexualities, with a focus primarily on the movement in the United States. The encyclopedia includes a volume of primary documents. This is an essential reference work on the current movement, as it charts, describes, and clarifies what has been a much debated and misunderstood phenomenon. More than 70 contributors, including leading academics and activists, present information about third-wave feminism, and they have conveyed the freshness and excitement that often characterise work in the third wave. A chronology and historical introduction put the encyclopedia and primary documents into perspective. Numerous photographs accompany the topics. The volume of primary documents presents 77 of the rich and wide range of voices that have contributed to the significant body of third wave feminist work.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
Publication Date: 1997-06-30
Individual demands for equality and civil rights are central themes in U.S. history and American Indian people are no exception. They have had to deal with white racism and its expression in local and national political institutions while trying to define the rights of individual Indians vis-a-vis their own tribal governments. The struggle has made their civil rights movement unique. This encyclopedia, designed to meet the curriculum needs of high school and college students, provides the most comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of American Indian civil rights issues. More than 600 entries cover a variety of perspectives, issues, individuals, incidents, and court cases central to an understanding of the history of civil rights among American Indian peoples. The issue is a complicated one, expanding over a period of more than a century. The history of American Indian civil rights can be traced not only in the courts and the federal legislation, but on the battlefield where a number of civil rights protests have been fought. This encyclopedia clarifies the complicated history of individual rights, water rights, land rights, and other issues in American Indian civil rights. It is thoroughly cross-referenced for ease of use in tracing any particular issue or incident. Each entry is followed by a list of works for further reading on the topic. An appendix of entries on landmark court cases is organized by issue. A selection of photos complements the text. This work is a one-stop source for up-to-date information on all aspects of American Indian civil rights and is essential for high school, public, and university libraries.
The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Disability Rights Movement
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
This monograph offers a radical reconceptualisation of the relationship between the poetics and practice of Robert Burns and revaluates the nature of his role in the history of Scots. By drawing on ideas from twenty-first century sociolinguistic theory, it seeks to transform the debate surrounding Burns's language. Through a series of readings that explore the way in which Burns used and commented on the styles associated with different places, groups and genres, it demonstrates how languages, places and the identities associated with both are, in Burns's writing, subject to continual reinvention. In this respect, the study breaks with existing accounts of the subject, insofar as it presents Scots, English and the other languages used by Burns not as fixed, empirically-observable entities, but as ideas that were revised and remade through the poet's work. Focusing on Burns's poems, songs, letters, prefaces and glossaries, the monograph pays special attention to the complex ways in which the author engaged with such issues as phonology, grammar and the naming of languages. The Burns who emerges from this book is not the marginal figure of traditional accounts - an under-educated poet alienated from the philological mainstream - but rather a well-informed thinker who, more than any other contemporary writer, embodies the creative linguistic spirit of the eighteenth century.