Read an introduction to the campus libraries for undergraduates.
Set up your computer for off campus access to library databases.
Need a map of the campus libraries?
Each library has its own hours. Click on the calendar for each library to view a month at a time.
As a Berkeley student you are eligible to use books and articles from other libraries around the United States.
Check UC Library Search to make sure UC Berkeley does not own the material you want.
Provide a full and accurate bibliographic citation, including author, title, place and date of publication, and series. You can get citations from professors, from other articles, from Google scholar. Verify your citations before submitting them for ILL.
Ethnic Studies is the critical and interdisciplinary study of race, ethnicity, and indigeneity with a focus on the experiences and perspectives of people of color within and beyond the United States. The Department of Ethnic Studies at UC Berkeley, founded in 1969, was one of the first in the nation and has produced some of the most dynamic and influential scholarship in the field.
The UC Berkeley Library collects at a research level in the subject of Ethnic Studies, which includes: history, literature, political science, etc. These materials are purchased in virtually all languages of the world and represent the ethnicities of people from all corners of the world.
Ethnic Studies collections are located in multiple campus libraries. Humanities and social sciences materials are located in the Main (Gardner) Stacks, with additional materials in subject specialty libraries such as Social Research, Anthropology, Environmental Design, Media Resources Center, etc.
The Ethnic Studies Library, with its departmental focus, features the following collections: Asian American Studies, Chicano Studies, Native American Studies and Comparative Ethnic Studies. These collections support the Ethnic Studies Department undergraduate majors and minors in Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies, Chicana/o and Latina/o Studies, Native American Studies, and Comparative Ethnic Studies, as well as a Ph.D. in Ethnic Studies.
The Bancroft Library, in addition to being the UC Berkeley’s manuscript and archival collections, holds materials relevant to American ethnic groups in California, the Western United States and Mexico; see the Western Americana collection description for details.
Start your research with the UCB Library catalog, OskiCat to find the library locations and call numbers of materials for your research.
See also the subject guide for African American Studies.