Library Guides: Social Protest and the Free Speech Movement: Secondary Sources

UC Library Search Goes Live July 27!

UC Library Search is the University of California's unified discovery and borrowing system.

Access it directly or from the Library homepage to find most UC books, articles, media, archival collections, and more.

See the UC Library Search User Guide and ask for research help 24/7 for more information.

Sample Searches in OskiCat

Search OskiCat for both primary and secondary sources. Examples:

1. keywords; broadening your search terms; finding official subject terms; limiting by language

(keywords) mexican american* civil rights
(keywords) indians of north america activis*
(keywords) "free speech movement"
(keywords) anti-war vietnam*
(keywords) disability rights movement

* = truncation symbol/wildcard for variant word endings
ex: immigra* = immigrant immigrants immigration etc.

2. look at the titles and official subject terms and find other terms

(subject) vietnam war, 1961- 1975 protest movements united states

(subject) indians of north america civil rights
(subject) american indian movement

(subject) feminism united states histor

Try out these OskiCat features:

limit your search to a type of material (DVDs) or a library location (Doe Reference) or language
save items to a list you can e-mail/download/print
place a recall request online
request items from storage (NRLF)
view a list of items you have checked out
send call numbers to your cell phone (see below)
receive alerts of new items that match your search terms ("preferred search")

Article Databases

Search an article database to find citations (title, author, title of journal, date, page numbers) for articles on a particular topic. The Library gives you access to over 200 article databases covering different disciplines.

1. Think about which academic disciplines might write about your topic. Examples: literature, film, anthropology, history...

2. Find the appropriate article database by subject (academic discipline or department). Look for "Recommended" databases.

Library home > click on Databases, then click on: Browse Databases.

Pull down the "All Subjects" menu to browse a list of databases by academic discipline, and/or pull down the "All Database Types" to browse lists by type of database (article databases, statistical databases, image databases, etc.).

Search Article Databases for Secondary Sources

Library home > select "Databases" and then click on "Find Databases by Subject" (academic discipline or department) > H > History > America: History and Life (scholarly secondary sources; history of US & Canada)

transgender* (select a field - optional)
activis* or "civil rights" (select a field - optional)

roe v wade (select a field - optional)
public opinion (select a field - optional)

advanced search

indians of north america (select a field - optional)
sovereignty (select a field - optional)

Historical period from: 1945 to 1990

Library home: select "Databases" and then click on "Find Databases by Subject" (academic discipline or department) >C > Chicano Studies > Chicano Database

advanced search

bilingual education (select a field - optional)

years published: 1960 to 1975

limit results to: academic journals

Library home: select "Databases" and then click on "Find Databases by Subject" (academic discipline or department) > G > Gender and Women's Studies

gay* (select a field - optional)
"civil rights" or "political activity" (select a field - optional)
1960* or 1970* (select a field - optional)

Search Results

click on the title to see full record (including abstracts and descriptors)
to limit by publication type (peer-reviewed journals, conferences, books, etc.) click on the appropriate tab or link
if necessary,look for other limits (latest update, journal articles only, english only) and more advanced searches
select records to save to your personalized list; lists may be e-mailed, downloaded, printed

Article Databases - Examples

Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Indexes women's studies, women's issues, and gender-focused books, book chapters, journal and magazine articles, dissertations, and reports from throughout the world. (Womens Studies International) [1972 - present]
Also indexes other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
International journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. [1970s - present]
Includes magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 190 countries. [1980 - present]
Indexes a wide range of journals, hard-to-find newsletters, reports, pamphlets, fact sheets, and guides covering a broad array of gender-related issues such as violence, economic development, health, the military, education, human rights, and law. Covers sources published by organizations around the world.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender issues. [dates vary]
Indexes Gay Lesbian Bisexual Transgender (GLBT)-specific core periodicals and GLBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from priority periodicals and over a thousand select titles. Also provides references to grey literature, newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Will soon contain all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.
Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US government documents covering 17 broad regions comprising 290 ethnic groups of native North America. [1500 - present]
Contains and updates citations from the print counterpart, Ethnographic Bibliography of North America, 1941-1990. Contains more than 80,000 citations. Includes content from the sixteenth century to the present.

About JSTOR!

Library home > Articles > General Article Databases > JSTOR

Everyone Loves JSTOR:

interdisciplinary
scholarly
full text available AND searchable - you may find topics you won't find elsewhere because they're only part of an article on a related topic
covers journals from their earliest publication dates

CAUTIONS:

DOES NOT INCLUDE THE LAST 3-5 YEARS of a journal! not good for contemporary topics!
doesn't include as many journals in a particular discipline as the discipline-specific database (example: MLA Bibliography for literature)

Find Dissertations

Find Dissertations by searching Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts) Full Text, which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

DVDs and Videos

https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=819842&p=5922811

delete below

Media Resources Center has terrific lists of DVDs and videos by subject; you can also search OskiCat for DVDs (pull down the "entire collection" menu to "Films/Videos/Slides"). NOTE: some of these titles are secondary sources, some are primary sources, and some are mixed.

1960s and 1970's and their Aftermath

Ethnic Studies

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Intersexual Studies

Women's and Gender Studies (including Men's Studies)

Primary Sources