Skip to main content

Energy & Resources: Books, Theses

Energy resources at the UC Berkeley Libraries.

Books and more

Find Electronic books, print books and journals in OskiCat, Melvyl, and Start Your Search; some are in publisher packages or special subject collections.

Find books, ebooks, journals

Start Your Search [UC Berkeley Discovery Tool] Guide to Start Your Search: What's Included.

Oskicat [UC Berkeley]

  • Search books, journals, dissertations, reports, patents.
  • Renew your books
  • Find course reserves
  • Request items from other libraries, from storage, or checked out by other patrons
  • Refine your search to a specific library, available items or online items.

Melvyl  [UC, selected UCB libraries not in Oskicat]

  • Search books, ebooks, journals, dissertations, and articles from UCB-subscribed journals
  • Search libraries worldwide
  • Request items UCB does not own, create and save lists, automatically format citations.

Google Books

  • Search the full text of books Google has scanned
  • Read the full text of most out-of-copyright books
  • View previews or snippets from many books still in copyright
  • Find in a library link will locate the book if it is owned by UC Berkeley

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Graduate dissertations from North America and European graduate schools and universities.
Doctoral dissertations:[1980--] Masters, [1988 --]  Full text of most dissertations [1997--].  [1861 - present]

Dissertations and Theses at University of California
Dissertations and theses from UC campuses, many available with full text.

Dissertations from a UC Berkeley department:
Search OskiCat: keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.
Example: berkeley dissertations energy

eBook Collections & Reference

ENVIROnetBASE
A collection of handbooks in the environmental sciences.

Cambridge Books Online 
Access to Cambridge University Press e-books in the sciences, engineering and social sciences.

Elsevier Science Direct eBooks 
Full-text access to e-books in the sciences, plus access to the abstracts of another 5000+ titles.

National Academies Press
Full-text books and reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

Open Library
Contains records for books some are available in full text. Look for the "Read" icon or links to online formats. Open Library also makes digitized books available for book reading devices. A project of the Internet Archive.

Oxford Scholarship Online
Chapter-level access to Oxford University Press e-books in biology and other subject areas.

SciTech Connect: government books.

Springer eBooks
Full-text digitized scholarly books. Subjects: Biomedical and Life Sciences, Earth and Environmental Science, and more.

Wiley Online Library
Access to selected published books in many subject areas.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.