Skip to main content

Nutritional Sciences and Toxicology: Toxicology

a library research guide to nutrition, metabolic biology, and toxicology resources.

What is Toxicology?

Toxicology is the study of the adverse effects of chemical, physical, or biological agents on people, animals, and the environment. Toxicologists are scientists trained to investigate, interpret, and communicate the nature of those effects. Society of Toxicology.

Resources

Consumer Product Information Database.: Chemical ingredients in products provides information of the supply chain from raw material supplier to consumers.

TOXNET: U.S. National Library of Medicine, toxicology data network on hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

ChemIDPlus, Chemical nomenclature and structure.

Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS) [a ToxNet Database]: Chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results. Developed by National Cancer Institute (NCI).

Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB) [a ToxNet Database]: CPDB reports analyses of animal cancer tests used in support of cancer risk assessments for human. Includes 6,540 chronic, long-term animal cancer tests from literature and the National Cancer Institute and the National Toxicology Program (NTP

Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD) [a ToxNet Database]: Curated data describing cross-species chemical-gene/protein interactions and chemical- and gene-disease relationships. The results provide insight into the molecular mechanisms underlying variable susceptibility and environmentally influenced diseases.

Genetic Toxicology Data Bank (GENE-TOX) [a ToxNet Database: Data from scientific literature for 3,000+ chemicals from the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). GENE-TOX was established to select assay systems for evaluation, review data in the scientific literature, and recommend proper testing protocols and evaluation procedures for these systems.

Haz-Map: Occupational health database with information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. Main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases.

Household Products Database. National Library of Medicine.

Hazardous Substances Data Bank. (HSDB) [a ToxNet Database]: Toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals, information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas.

Integrated Risk Information System. IRIS. [a ToxNet Database]: Data in support of human health risk assessment, hazard identification and dose-response assessments by U.S. EPA. Contains descriptive and quantitative information on human cancer and non-cancer health effects from exposure to substances in the environment.

International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER). [a ToxNet Database]: Data in support of human health risk assessments, compiled by Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment (TERA)  ITER provides comparison charts of international risk assessment and differences in risk values derived by different organizations.

LactMed: Drugs and lactation. LactMed is a database of 1,000+ drugs and chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed.

Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) [a ToxNet Database]: Information on releases of specific toxic chemicals and their management as waste reported by U.S. industrial and federal facilities.

TOXLINE [a ToxNet Database]: Database with citations from specialized journals and other sources.  [1840s - present.]

TOXMAP [a ToxNet Database]: Geographic Information System (GIS) that uses maps of the United States to show location and amount ot toxic chemicals.  Census data can be overlaid.

Article Resources

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.