Library Guides: Nutritional Sciences and Toxicology: Web + Data Resources

Nutrition Web and Data Resources

CDC:

FDA:

NLM:

USDA:

California and UC:

International:

Other:

Pharos This link opens in a new window
Pharos provides hazard, use, and exposure information on chemicals and building products. NOTE: You must first register for an account using the link here and your Berkeley email address.
Search by chemical name/CAS RN, or use (for example: flooring, solvent, etc.). Pharos also includes Hazard Lists (authoritative scientific lists for health and environmental hazards and restricted substance lists), as well as Common Products (common contents and hazards of different kinds of building products).

TOXNET
This network of databases from the National Library of Medicine has been reorganized and some pieces of it retired completely. See link for details.
CompTox
CompTox Chemicals Dashboard is a part of a suite of databases and web applications developed by the U.S. EPA. It includes chemistry, toxicity, and exposure information for hundreds of thousands of chemicals.
Consumer Product Information Database
Browse or search for information on health effects of consumer products.
Haz-Map
Occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases.
Comparative Toxicogenomics Database (CTD)
Database that aims to advance understanding about how environmental exposures to chemicals affect human health.
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), US EPA
EPA’s IRIS Program works to identify and characterize the health hazards of chemicals found in the environment. Each IRIS assessment can cover a chemical, a group of related chemicals, or a complex mixture.
International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER)
Data in support of human health risk assessments. It is compiled by Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment (TERA) and contains data from CDC/ATSDR, Health Canada, RIVM, U.S. EPA, IARC, NSF International and independent parties offering peer-reviewed risk values.

PubChem This link opens in a new window
Information on chemical properties, structures, and bioactivity.
Includes three interlinked databases: PubChem Compound (standardized and validated chemical structures and properties), PubChem Substance (depositor-uploaded chemical information), and PubChem BioAssay (descriptions of bioactivity screens for chemicals in PubChem Substance).

Data from the Hazardous Substance Database (HSDB) can now be found in PubChem. See these instructions.
Data from ChemIDplus can now be found in PubChem. See these instructions.

ToxMap

Environmental Health Criteria (WHO)
EHC documents provide international, critical reviews on the effects of chemicals or combinations of chemicals and physical and biological agents on human health and the environment.
IARC Monographs on the Identification of Carcinogenic Hazards to Humans (WHO)
The IARC Monographs identify environmental factors that can increase the risk of human cancer. These include chemicals, complex mixtures, occupational exposures, physical agents, biological agents, and lifestyle factors.
Report on Carcinogens
This biennial report lists and profiles substances known to be human carcinogens and those anticipated to be human carcinogens. It also describes the nature of exposures to these substances and the estimated number of persons exposed.
Database on Migrating and Extractable Food Contact Chemicals (FCCmigex)
Maps the scientific evidence of food contact chemicals (FCCs). FCCs in the database were investigated either for their presence in food contact materials, or for their propensity to transfer into food under real-world conditions.