Nutrition information and clinical tools for health care professionals. Includes nutrition care for specific conditions; nutrition calculators; supplement formulary; client education materials and sample menus; and additional resources. (ADA Nutrition Care Manual)
Provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools. Provides nutrition care processes for specific diseases; nutrition calculators; nutrition therapy foods and sample menus; and more.
Library of evidence-based pediatric nutrition education materials and resources. Includes a pediatric diet manual, a client education library of more than 150 handouts (including translations), pediatric calculators, and infant formula and feeding recipe tables.
Automated Self-Administered 24-Hour (ASA24®) Dietary Assessment Tool from the National Cancer Institute. This tool enables multiple, automatically coded, self-administered 24-hour diet recalls and/or single or multi-day food records, also known as food diaries.
From the USDA. Expanded nutrient profile data. Includes five distinct data types that provide information on food and nutrient profiles: Foundation Foods, Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies 2019-2020 (FNDDS 2019-2020), National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference Legacy Release (SR Legacy), USDA Global Branded Food Products Database (Branded Foods), and Experimental Foods.
Evidence-based information on complementary and alternative medicine. Includes databases on food and supplements, health and wellness, medical conditions, brands and manufacturers, genomics and proteomics, and environmental and animal health, among others.
Provide evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Contains three sub-databases: Herbs & supplements, condition center, and alternative modalities.
A source of reference information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals for the physical, life, and health sciences.
Includes more than 11,000 entries for single substances and related groups of compounds covering: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity information; and therapeutic uses. (Merck Index, Fifteenth edition)
Access to this resource has been discontinued effective 4/30/24 due to library budget cuts.
"Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more."
"Content reflects the interdisciplinary nature, and resources for studying food, in history, sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, human geography, sustainability, agriculture, culinary arts, literary studies, political science, and development studies.
Includes: Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food and chapters from Food History: Critical and Primary Source. Image collections including the Culinary Arts Museum, USA and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA."
3D interactive anatomical models, images and videos.
Visible Body includes Human Anatomy Atlas, Anatomy & Physiology, Visible Biology, Muscle Premium, and Physiology Animations, as well as review guides, flashcards, and other resources.
To access Visible Body, UCB users must sign in with their @berkeley.edu Google account, or sign up using another email, while logged into the campus network. Once they have created an account they can log in from any computer for six months.
Finding Protocols
The following protocol resources contain the full text of current protocols in a variety of disciplines
Experimental procedures in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, molecular biology, neuroscience, toxicology, and other research areas. Click "Journals" at the top of the page to see a full list of titles.
Provides access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series.
Experimental procedures in biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cancer biology, cell biology, genetics/genomics, imaging/radiology, infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular biology and medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology/toxicology, plant sciences, and protein science.
Online versions of Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Content includes biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.
JoVE publishes scientific research in a visual format to help researchers learn new experimental techniques and help make research more transparent and reproducible.
A repository of shared protocols submitted by researchers. Note: UC students, faculty, and staff have access to premium features such as unlimited private group files, shared notebook records, unlimited storage, and protocol import assistance. For more information about signing up for your free Premium account, please visit this page.
The ASPEN Adult Nutrition Support Core Curriculum, Third Edition