Skip to main content

Nutritional Sciences and Toxicology: California, U.C. & U.S. Links

a library research guide to nutrition, metabolic biology, and toxicology resources.

UC & California Nutrition eResources

Agricultural Issues Center [UC Davis]

CAFF: Community Alliance with Family Farmers 

California Agricultural Experiment Station Publications [Internet Archive]

California Department of Food and Agriculture 

California Environmental Resources Evaluation System (CERES) 

California Invasive Plant Council (CAL-IPC) Invasive Plant Inventory  

Edible Schoolyard, Martin Luther King Junior Middle School in Berkeley, California, founded by Alice Waters.

Local Harvest, Resource for "Buy Local movement" with nationwide directory of small farms, markets, and other local food sources

Martindale's Health Science Guide - Nutrition

Postharvest Technology Research and Information Center [UC Davis]

SAGE - Sustainable Agriculture Education [Berkeley, CA]

ucbiotech.org: University of California Biotechnology. Science based information & resources on agriculture, food & technology.

University of California, Global Food Initiative

UrbanFood.org
- Urban agriculture in Oakland, CA

UC ANR Publications Catalog

UC Cooperative Extension - Links to Programs and Offices 

UC Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources  [UC ANR]

UC IPM [University of California Statewide Integrated Pest Management Program]

US links

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics eatright.org
AgNIC - Agriculture Network Information Center
American Society of Agronomy
ATTRA - National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research
Crop Science Society of America
Dietary Supplements Labels Database [National Library of Medicine]
Distribution maps of plant pests
Encycloweedia - Information on California's noxious weeds
Local Harvest - for "Buy Local movement" with national directory of small farms, farmers markets, & local food sources
RiceOnline.com
UrbanFood.org - Urban agriculture in Oakland, CA

CDC: Center for Disease Control & Prevention - Food Safety (CDC)

FDA:
Everything Added to Food in the United States [EAFUS] / FDA database
FDA Information for Consumers [US Food and Drug Administration].
Food Code [FDA]

USDA:
Agricultural Marketing Service [USDA]
Agriculture Fact Book 2001-2002 - with other USDA publications
Nutrition.gov: Federal government information on nutrition. [National Agricultural Library, USDA]
Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion [USDA, CNPP]
ChooseMyPlate.gov, part of the USDA Food Guidance System
Dietary Guidelines for Americans  [NAL/USDA]
Farmer Direct Marketing [USDA]
Food and Nutrition Center [National Agricultural Library, USDA]
Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies [USDA]
Food Composition Database
Food Surveys Research Group
Nutrient Data Laboratory Includes information published in Agriculture Handbook no.8, Composition of Foods.
Nutrient Database for Standard Reference Information published in Agriculture Handbook no. 8, Composition of Foods.

eResources

CalFed Bay Delta Program

California Department of Pesticide Regulation 

California Invasive Plant Council (CAL-IPC) Formerly the California Exotic Plant Pest Council.

California Water Resources [Internet Archive] 

CERES [California Environmental Resources Evaluation System]

Drought Risk Atlas. [The National Drought Mitigation Center]

EcoPort - Ecological Knowledge Portal 

Encyclopedia of Earth

Envirofacts - Environmental information and data [EPA]

ENVIROnetBASE [UCB-only] 500+ books in all aspects of environmental science, earth sciences, and ecology.

National Council for Science and the Environment 

National Pesticide Information Center [Oregon State University and the EPA]

UCBiotech.org [UC Biotechnology Workgroups

World Resources Institute

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.