Based on the 12th edition of Le Grand Robert de la langue francaise (2001), it is the most complete French dictionary. Contains more than 100,000 entries, 325,000 quotations, and millions of synonyms and cross-references to related sources such as Petit Robert des noms propres (2004) and the bibliographie generale du Grand Robert. Advanced exploratory features for usage, derivation, variation, and etymologies of individual words.
The principal Dictionnaire Francais permits cross-searching across Un Dictionnaire de francais, Un Dictionnaire des synonymes et contraires, Un Dictionnaire des expressions, Un Dictionnaire des homonymes, and Un Dictionnaire des citations.
Online versions of the following titles: Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary, Oxford Spanish Dictionary, and the Oxford Russian Dictionary.
Freely available electronic version of the Tresor de la langue francaise: dictionnaire de la langue de XIX et du XX Siecle(1789-1960), a 16-volume etymological and historical dictionary of 19th and 20th century French. Comprises over 100,000 words with their history, 270,000 definitions, 430,000 examples, and three different search interfaces. Each entry supplies pronunciation in the International Phonetic Alphabet, definition, orthography, etymology with sources, and history.
Covers the topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines such as anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, cognitive science, media, computer science, sociology, medicine, and the law. Includes video, audio, and image files.
"Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories."
The Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of literary theory and criticism, providing entries on critical schools and movements, critics and theorists, and terms, along with references and bibliographies for further research.
Contains biographical information on approximately 500,000 individuals from antiquity to the present. Contains the full text of well-known biographical resources like Current Biography, the World Authors Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors and many other sources.
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Also includes biographical information on major artists, bibliographical references and links to images. (Part of the Oxford Art Online suite.)
Includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Includes biographical information on composers, performers and music writers.
Features brief profiles on over 1.4 million individuals from all fields including government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Equivalent to the print versions of Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who of American Women, Who's Who in Business and Finance, and many other Who's Who volumes.
Indexes the complete contents of 38 microfiche sets of biographical archives, providing short biographies on more than 3.6 million persons from all periods, countries and regions worldwide. Based on K. G. Saur's microfiche Biographical Archives, which consolidates biographical articles from a wide variety of printed reference works published from the 16th to the 20th century. UCB owns virtually all the microfiche sets which the WBIS indexes.