The Library offers over hundreds of e-book and text collections in specific subject areas. Most of these e-books are also available through UC Library Search. You can limit your search to "Available online."
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Searches and displays the full text of books and other texts on many subjects. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Close to 10,000 volumes from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library book and serials collection is available through the Internet Archive: The Bancroft Library portal.
1400 online titles from the University of California Press covering a wide range of subjects. About 30% of the UC Press books, both in print and out-of-print are represented in this collection. Click on By Subject, for a title list by subject. Note that titles are viewable online but cannot be downloaded.
French Electronic Text Collections
The resources listed below are freely available or via library subscription.
The texts of Le Corpus are based on editions from the monographic series of the same name published by Librairie Artheme Fayard with the Association pour le Corpus des oeuvres de philosophie en langue francaise under the direction of Michel Serres. The searchable database has 15.9 million words in 452 works, listed in the online bibliography.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
A full text searching, retrieving and analysis tool. It DOES NOT allow for downloading, printing or reading of the full text. The database comprises approximately 4000 French texts, ranging from classic works of literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. Also available through ARTFL.
Brings together in one single searchable database the Corpus des grammaires francaises de la Renaissance, le Corpus des grammaires francaises du XVIIe siecle and the Corpus des remarques sur la langue francaise (XVIIe siecle) which is virtually every available French grammar work from the 14th to the 17th century. Most of the works are presented in a digitized format identical to the original as well as a textual facsimile, providing advanced searches and other sophisticated functionality.
Ebooks can be read either on the platform's online reader (which requires Flash), or downloaded and read using the free Adobe Digital Editions reader. Please note that UCB does not have access to all content on L'Harmathèque's multimedia platform.
The institutional subscription to OpenEdition Fremium allows the UC Berkeley community to participate in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities: no DRM or download quotas are applied. As such, thousands of ebooks and journals are discoverable through the site or through our catalogs and bibliographic search tools permitting researchers to benefit from a range of digital formats, some optimized specifically for e-readers, tablets, and smart phones (ePub, PDF, etc.)
OpenEdition is an initiative of the Centre for Open Electronic Publishing (Cléo), a unit that brings together the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Université d’Aix-Marseille, the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) and the Université d’Avignon et des Pays de Vaucluse.
A partnership between the Voltaire Foundation and Liverpool University Press is making volumes from the series available online for the first time. A broad overview of a variety of subjects relating to the Enlightenment including: history, cultural studies, literature, biography, religious studies, philosophy, and gender studies. The collection contains 572 volumes, a digital collection with over 190,000 pages of highly-regarded content in both English and French.
A searchable corpus based upon the Voltaire Foundation Oxford edition of the Complete works of Voltaire. It includes all of Voltaire's literary works. Texts which have not yet been published in the Complete works are drawn either from the original sources or from the 19th century Moland edition of Voltaire's works. The database will be updated regularly with further texts from the Oxford edition as they become available.
Currently comprises twenty-six complete Old and Middle French texts. This database is unique for this period of the history of French due to its volume (approximately 1,500,000 words) and the diversity of the texts included. Other searchable corpa or ""projets associes"" are available through the Base de Francais Medieval (BFM) site. The BFM database covers a considerable geographic area and an extensive chronological breadth, with texts from the 9th century (including the first known French text, Serments de Strasbourg) to the end of the 15th century. Both verse and prose texts are represented, as well as different genres and domains (e.g., fiction, history, hagiography, law, the sciences, etc.).
The texts are not directly accessible. They can be searched by means of precise queries (e.g., discrete lexical items, word and phrase concordances, etc.) via the Weblex2 search and analysis engine.
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions. Europeana -- the European digital library, museum and archive -- launched in 2008 and is funded by the European Commission and its member states. This current prototype is one of many parallel projects of The European Library.
Provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources. One can browse (Decouverte), search (Recherche), or explore thematic groupings of materials (Dossiers).
A collection of electronically published books selected by the American Historical Association and Columbia University Press. The titles represent a wide range of historical subjects.
