Skip to main content

Cookbooks - Bioscience & Natural Resources Library: Home

cookbooks collection guide

Bioscience & Natural Resources Library: Special collections

The Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library cookbook collections are located in three areas of the library: the Locked Case for rare and special cookbooks, the Reference collection, these books consist of recipes for all types of cooking, and the Stacks, these books include social history, local culture, and recipes. This guide will provide information on the cookbook collection, how to locate the books in the Library. Other research guides of interest: Food & the Environment; Foodways: Food Culture, Cookery, Culinary Tourism; Global Health Research;  Special Collections: Cookbooks

 

New:

Bloomsbury Food Library
Access to encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more. Includes: Ken Albala’s Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia, the Cambridge World History of Food, Bloomsbury’s Cultural History of Food and Food History: Critical and Primary Source. Image collections include the Culinary Arts Museum at Johnson & Wales University, USA and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, USA, plus lesson plans to assist teaching.

Selected new cookbooks:

Cookbooks, Cookery and Cooking History

To find cookbooks at UC Berkeley: Search OskiCat, Select Subject: cookbook
OR Under More Searches, select: Form or Genre: enter cookbooks

Cookbooks, in the Bioscience Library are located in the Cookbook section, and on the 3rd Floor Mezzanine, by call number.
Browse the shelves or enter the the following call number ranges:

TX1-1110 Home economics
TX301-339  The house:arrangement, care, servants
TX341-641 Nutrition. Foods and food supply
TX642-840 Cooking
TX851-885 Dining-room service
TX901-946.5 Hospitality. Hotels, Food service
TX950-953 Taverns, barrooms, saloons
TX955-985 Building operation and housekeeping
TX1100-1105 Mobile home living
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.