Human Rights Resources: Introduction

Human Rights Search Engines

HuriSearch.  Custom search engine providing "one point access to all human rights information published by human rights organizations worldwide." From Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems, International.

What Convention? This search engine will help you find your issue or human right in the Human Rights conventions, treaties, etc where it is located.

Campus Library Map

Click on the image below to see a larger interactive version of the campus library map.

You can also view/download a PDF map of library locations. For library contact information and building addresses, visit our directory.

Purchase Recommendation

You can suggest items that the Library should consider purchasing. Use the Purchase Recommendation form to submit your suggestion.

Doe Library, North Reading Room

Catalogs and Search Engines

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books. To read the text of a copyrighted book, use find in a Library link to locate the book at UC Berkeley or search

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library.

Online Reference Sources

Amnesty International Annual Report.  In addition to the annual report, AI produces other country or topic specific reports. The AI USA  office web site is better organized and offers easy access to older annual reports.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices.  Annual report on human rights practices worldwide from the United States Department of State. 

Oxford Bibliographies. Great way to deal with information overload: here are lists of good books in the areas of international law and international relations, including human rights.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Human Rights. Human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Includes major figures, organizations, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Human Rights Watch World Report.  Summarizes humen rights conditions from around the world. There are many useful reports available on related topics, e.g. child labor, migration, refugees, etc. 

Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.  Includes the Encyclopedia of The United Nations and International Agreements the Routledge Encyclopedia of Human Rights.

Human Rights Reference Books

Jim Church

Jim Church
Contact:
438 Doe Library
Berkeley, CA 94720
(510) 768-7611
Skype Contact

Electronic Resource Finder

One of the most important research section of the library web site is the Library Electronic Resource Finder. This is the library directory of databases and other information resources, organized by subject (e.g. political science) type (e.g. encyclopedias) as well as other categories. It also contains a link to a comprehensive listing of library e-journals.

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus or via your laptop or other mobile device using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Copyright © 2014 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.