Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Human Rights Resources: Find Articles

Overview

The following article databases search content within or across several disciplines.  Listed below are general multi-diciplinary databases for human rights, legal databases, and databases with an international perspective. 

General & Subject Databases

Academic Search Complete. A general multidisciplinary index to articles for thousands of journals and other publications.

Alternative Press Index. Alternative, radical, and left magazines and journals which report and analyze issues of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere.

America: History and Life. Indexes journals published worldwide on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals.

Black Studies Center (BSC). Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online).  Journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs analysis and advocacy. Also includes links to international affairs Internet sources.

Historical Abstracts. Indexes journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PolicyFile. Index to public policy in the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, and social issues worldwide. Some material published in European Languages. 

Proquest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues. Includes thousands so research articles relating to human rights women and children.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy. 

Area Studies Databases

ABSEES Online Database. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, selected government publications, and online resources published in the US and Canada on East and Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. 

African Journal Archive.  Retrospective digitization project of journal articles published in Africa. Includes journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa's research and cultural heritage. Journal articles hosted go back to the first issue (if available) and end with the last pre-current issue, as determined by the publisher. 

Africa-Wide Information.  A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. 

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS).  Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL). Full text PDF articles from humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.

Handbook of Latin American StudiesIndexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies. Index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and people of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa spanning over a century. 

RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe. Collection of open access scholarly journals covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by more than 500 institutions in Latin American countries. 

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities to meet the communication needs of researchers in the Global South, particularly those in Latin America and the Caribbean. 

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 台灣電子期刊服務網. More than 900 full-text periodicals published in Taiwan covering various subjects

Legal Databases

For a glimpse into the complex world of international law and human rights see also the UC Berkeley Law Library Research Guide to International Human Rights Law.

Hein Online. Provides full text to the early issues of many legal journals and law reviews, the Federal Register (1936-six months ago), US Supreme Court Library (1754-present) and treaties and agreements.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books/Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective. Indexes legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, university publications, law reviews, books, and government publications from the United States and selected foreign countries. The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1918-1981) secton indexes over 500 legal periodicals back to 1918.

LegalTrac. Indexes journals, law reviews, and magazines related to legal research and commentary on case studies, government regulations, the practice of law, statutes, taxation, and international law.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic). Titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, and legislative magazines, newsletters, legal cases, and law reviews.  Geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais and Xinhua (New China) News Agency.