Library Guides: Human Rights Resources: Introduction

Human Rights Search

Human Rights Internet. Human rights information and resources to inspire education, advocacy and dialog.

HuriSearch. Custom search engine providing "one point access to all human rights information published by human rights organizations worldwide." From Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems, International.

What Convention? This search engine will help you find your issue or human right in the Human Rights conventions, treaties, etc where it is located.

Online Reference

Amnesty International Annual Report. AI also produces country and topic specific reports. See also the AI USA office.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices. Annual report on human rights practices worldwide from the US Department of State.

CQ Researcher. Provides background, chronologies, literature reviews, and contemporary developments on political and economic issues.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Human Rights. Human rights theory, practice, law, and history. Major figures, organizations, human rights events, crises, and norms.

Human Rights Watch World Report. Human rights conditions from around the world. Includes reports available on related topics, e.g. child labor, migration, refugees, etc.

Catalogs and Search Engines

UC Library Search. Books, e-books, journal articles and other content in one integrated library platform for the entire UC System. Does not include content from some databases, numeric data, and other content. For more information on getting started please see this guide.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. On campus it automatically connects to licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books.

Sample Human Rights History Books

Hiding in Plain Sight: The Pursuit of War Criminals from Nuremberg to the War on Terror
This book explores the range of diplomatic and military strategies that states and international courts adopted to pursue and capture war crimes suspects, beginning with the flight of Nazi war criminals after World War II, then moving on to questions of justice following the Balkan wars and the Rwandan genocide. It ends with the establishment of the International Criminal Court and America's pursuit of suspected terrorists after 9/11.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
This five-volume encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice.
Human Rights in the Twentieth Century
The contributions to this volume examine how human rights came to define the bounds of universal morality in the course of the political crises and conflicts of the twentieth century.
The History of Human Rights
Recounts the struggle for human rights across the ages in a book that synthesizes historical and intellectual developments from the Mesopotamian Codes of Hammurabi to today's era of globalization.