Agriculture: Data & Statistics

Data sources marked with * are limited to UCB access only.

California

• CA Agricultural Production Statistics. Includes annual Crop Year Reports.
• CIMIS. California Irrigation Management Information System.
• County Agricultural Reports. Crop and livestock reports. Choose county, then look for link to Reports or Publications.
• Cost and Return Studies. From UC Davis. Cost of production for various California crops.
• State Agriculture Overview for California. More state-level statistics are available from NASS and Census of Agriculture (see below).
• State Water Resources Control Board Regulated Facility Report Look up various agricultural facilities regulated by the resources board
• CA Climate Data Archive Station Network List - precipitation, temperature, etc.

United States

• Ag Data Commons (U.S. Department of Agriculture). Repository covering a variety of agricultural topics, such as agronomy, genomics, hydrology, soils, agro-ecosystems, sustainability science, and economics. Data included in the Ag Data Commons is funded in whole or in part by USDA.
• Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce). U.S. Economics Accounts data.
• Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor). Includes data on inflation, productivity, (un)employment, and pay.
• Data.gov - Agriculture. Features data and statistics related to agricultural production, food security, rural development, nutrition, natural resources, and regional food systems.
• National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA). NASS conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Included is the Census of Agriculture: uniform, comprehensive agricultural data for every state and county in the United States. NASS statistics are available via Quick Stats, which enables searching by commodity for data going back to the 1800s.
• *Statistical Abstract of the United States. Summary statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States with data from a variety of federal agencies. Earlier editions back to 1878 are also available.
• USA Trade Online. A dynamic data tool provided by the U.S. Census Bureau that gives users access to current and cumulative U.S. export and import data. Create a free account to use USA Trade Online.
• USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System (ESMIS). Collaborative project between Albert R. Mann Library at Cornell University and several agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, including Agricultural Marketing Service, Economic Research Service, and Foreign Agricultural Service. It contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets on U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.

International

• Center for International Earth Science Information Network. Provides data and other information to advance understanding of human interactions in the environment, including agriculture. See especially the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center
• Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including freshwater, population, forests, emissions, climate, disasters, health and GDP.
• FAOStat. A source of economic data for all types of agriculture around the world. Includes trade, production, price, emissions, and more.
• FluxNet.  Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from hundreds of micrometeorological tower sites located on 5 continents and representing many ecosystems.
• Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS). U.S. foreign agricultural trade data (from the USDA’s Foreign Agricultural Service), GATS includes international agricultural, fish, forest, and textile products trade statistics from 1989 to present.
• Global Yield Gap and Water Productivity Atlas. Estimates the difference between actual and potential yields as well as water productivity for major food crops worldwide.
• Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Socio-economic Centre. Baseline and scenario data related to population, economic development, technology and natural resources for use in climate impact assessments.
• World Agricultural Outlook Board (USDA). The WAOB maintains the monthly World Agricultural Supply and Demand Estimates report. This website also contains a weekly weather and crop bulletin.
• World Bank Data. Worldwide data about development. Development Indicators, Climate Change Data, and much more.
• World Input-Output Database. Time series of national and world input-output tables, socio-economic accounts, and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries in the world.
• World Resources Institute. Data from WRI, a global research organization that works to sustain natural resources, focusing on six critical issues at the intersection of environment and development: climate, energy, food, forests, water, and cities and transport.