Library Guides: Agriculture: Home

Research Tools for Agriculture Topics

Article Databases Recommended for Agriculture

Look for to link to full text

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
AGRIS This link opens in a new window
International, multilingual database of papers, data, and statistics on agricultural research and technology produced by the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology)
Covers subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Includes grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.

agriRxiv
International open access archive of unpublished preprints for agriculture and allied sciences.

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Organic Eprints This link opens in a new window
An international open access archive for materials related to research in organic food and farming. Includes scientific papers, conference papers and posters, theses, reports, books and book chapters, magazine articles, web products, and project descriptions.
An open access archive for papers related to research in organic agriculture. Contains full-text papers together with bibliographic information, abstracts and other metadata.
SEARCH (USDA NAL) This link opens in a new window
The USDA National Agricultural Library’s search tool that includes results from AGRICOLA (USDA's catalog and articles database), PubAg (USDA’s public access repository), and the NAL Digital Collections (historical documents and images).
Topics include nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural statistics, extension education, and soil science.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

eBooks

ACSESS Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, journals, trade magazines, news, and more from The Alliance of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science Societies.
ACSESS was created by and is composed of the American Society of Agronomy, the Crop Science Society of America, and the Soil Science Society of America.
CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International. [2000-present].
This collection is divided into six subject areas: Agriculture; Animal & Veterinary Sciences; Human Health & Nutrition; Plant Sciences; Environmental Science; and Leisure & Tourism.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of academic ebooks, encyclopedias, handbooks, and more with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Full-text Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.

News on Agriculture

FERN's Ag Insider This link opens in a new window
Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-Present] (Ag Insider)
Includes tag-based searchable archive.
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy from E&E News. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: climate change, energy, environmental health, public lands, and natural resources. Related subscriptions are EnergyWire, ClimateWire, and E&E Daily, which focuses on congressional and legislative activity.

Other Research Tools

Horticulture Compendium This link opens in a new window
Reference work that compiles knowledge on horticulture crops worldwide, including fruits, vegetables, and commodity crops.
Contains over 250 detailed datasheets on major and minor crops describing the crop lifecycle from growth stages to postharvest and consumption. Also includes information on crop pests, a multilingual glossary, more than 1000 images, and country datasheets containing statistics on agricultural production.
Crop Protection Compendium This link opens in a new window
Compiles and presents scientific information on all aspects of global crop protection by integrating text, images, maps, and databases in an encyclopedic portal.
CPC contains thousands of datasheets on crop pests, diseases, weeds, invasive plants, and natural enemies. CPC also includes a glossary, full text of relevant articles and reports, and abstracts of many additional articles, conference papers, and reports.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems This link opens in a new window
Addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face.
The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Primary archival materials, visual ephemera, text, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us.
Content includes food labels, advertisements, documentary films, pamphlets, recipes, menus, books, photographs, and more.

California Agricultural Resources Archive (CARA)
Search records related to "California agriculture" across multiple library catalogs and resources.

Encyclopedia of Food Security and Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary articles investigating sustainable food production in relation to the effects of global change on food resources, biodiversity, and global food security. Includes sections on nutrition, diet, food systems, agriculture, and more.
ASABE Technical Library This link opens in a new window
Standards, journal articles, and conference papers from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE). [2001 - present]
Access to the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) standards, journals, and conference proceedings.

Related Guides

Agricultural and Resource Economics
by Becky Miller Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 1397 views this year
Energy & Resources
by Becky Miller Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 753 views this year
Food Studies
by Becky Miller Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 805 views this year
Forestry
by Becky Miller Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 446 views this year
Plant and Microbial Biology
by Becky Miller Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 569 views this year
Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
by Becky Miller Last Updated Nov 13, 2024 931 views this year

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. Use it to find books, articles, media, archival collections, and more across most UCB libraries (notable exception: Berkeley Law Library), as well as the collections of other UC libraries.

You can:

Narrow your search results using filters (ex: peer review status, date, and format).
Use Request to page items, place a hold, or request an interlibrary loan (must be logged in).
Save and export records to email or citation management software, or save searches.
View and manage (must be logged in) your:
Saved records, saved searches, and search history.
Requested, borrowed, and Interlibrary Loan items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

See the UC Library Search user guide.

Statement from the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library about harmful, offensive, or discredited Library materials.

Secondary menu

Agriculture: Home