Library Guides: Development Practice: Articles

Top Research Databases

Use one or more of these databases to find articles, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials. If you are unsure which database(s) to use, please ask your librarian.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
AGRIS This link opens in a new window
International, multilingual database of papers, data, and statistics on agricultural research and technology produced by the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology)
Covers subjects related to agriculture, including forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic sciences and fisheries, human nutrition, and extension. Includes grey literature such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers, government publications, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal
Curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for international economic journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. [1969 - present]
The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences. [1785 - present]
Includes all publications of the USGS. Database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present.
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
Access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries; full text available for nearly half of the citations in this database.
"Search all of WHO's Regional Indexes Medici together. The contents of the Global Index Medicus (GIM) come from the Regional Indexes Medici, coordinated by each WHO Regional Office:
African Index Medicus
Scientific and Technical Literature of Latin America and the Caribbean
Index Medicus for Eastern Mediterranean Region
Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region
Western Pacific Region Index Medicus "
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

Tip: See the Guide for New PubMed to learn how to use PubMed most effectively.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Other Databases
There are many more databases available at UCB. Find an appropriate database by subject or type.

And here's a friendly reminder:

Conditions of Use for Electronic Reources

Searching Tips and Lit Review Basics

Searching by topic
Material (from a biology assignment using the Web of Science platform) on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
Helpful video from NCSU libraries. It's geared towards grad students but also relevant to anyone doing a thesis, capstone project, or other major research paper.

Find Journals and Full Text

Use Journal Search to find online or print access to a particular journal.
To find full text when searching in an article database, look for links:
To find full text from a citation, paste the citation into the search box in UC Library Search.

For items not available at UC Berkeley

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) Request books, articles, and other materials not available at UC Berkeley.

Non-UCB Borrowers:

See UCB Library's information on interlibrary lending and duplication services.

Recommend a Purchase:

Use this form to recommend purchases (books, etc.) or subscriptions.

Secondary menu

Development Practice: Articles

Top Research Databases

Searching Tips and Lit Review Basics

Find Journals and Full Text

For items not available at UC Berkeley