Library Guides: Development Practice: Books + Reports

UC Library Search - find books, ebooks, and more

UC Library Search is the University of California’s unified discovery and borrowing system. Use it to find books, articles, media, archival collections, and more across most UCB libraries (notable exception: Berkeley Law Library), as well as the collections of other UC libraries.

You can:

Narrow your search results using filters (ex: peer review status, date, and format).
Use Request to page items, place a hold, or request an interlibrary loan (must be logged in).
Save and export records to email or citation management software, or save searches.
View and manage (must be logged in) your:
Saved records, saved searches, and search history.
Requested, borrowed, and Interlibrary Loan items.
Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

See the UC Library Search user guide.

Statement from the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library about harmful, offensive, or discredited Library materials.

SAGE Research Methods

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the essential online resource for anyone doing research or learning how to do research. With more than 800 books, reference works, and journal articles from SAGE’s world-renowned research methods list, SAGE Research Methods provides information on writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up the findings.
SAGE Research Methods’ coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.

Also, by a UCB Librarian:

Research Methods--Quantitative, Qualitative, and More
Guide to research method resources.

Find Reports and Information from Government, IGOs, NGOs, and Think Tanks

Government Information

Other librarians at UCB have created these helpful Guides to Finding Government Information.

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of IGO websites

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of NGO sites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from curated lists.

Search Think Tanks and Research Centers

Link to a Google Custom Search of more than 1200 think tanks and research centers.

Using Google More Effectively

Advanced Google Searching
Tips and tricks on how to use advanced search features in Google, special google searches, Google tools, and more!

eBooks & Reports

Use UC Library Search to search for eBooks on a particular topic, or browse one of the eBook or report collections below. To learn how to navigate the different eBook platforms, see these instructions. You will also find eBooks and reports by searching some of the databases listed under Articles.

EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
Reports, analysis, data and forecasts covering economics and politics for more than 200 countries. (Previously EIU Country Profiles and Reports).
Includes commodity and industry forecasts as well as data at the global and country level in the areas of business and political risk, market opportunities, economic policy, demographics, energy, telecommunications. and macroeconomic indicators. Information is browsable by geography, industry, topic, and current theme.
Eldis This link opens in a new window
Policy, practice, and research on international development issues.
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes thousands of summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from thousands of publishers. Each document is selected by members of the Eldis editorial team. See also their Custom Search Engine for information from other development web sites.
FitchConnect This link opens in a new window
Macroeconomic, financial, industry, and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. [2011 - present]
Note: This resource requires you to login with your CalNet.
Provides quarterly, updated market forecast reports on 14 industry sectors in 55 countries. Industries covered include: Automotives, Chemicals, Banking, Defence and Security, Retail Food and Drink, Freight Transport, IT, Infrastructure, Insurance, Oil and Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications and Media, and Tourism. There is also a database of 65,000 multinational company subsidiaries and company profiles.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences on science and science policy. Topics include agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.
Includes more than 3000 free, online books. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications and data are open access since July 2024.
OECD publications are also Open Access on the OECD web site under "publications". Statistical data is also available at the new OECD data explorer https://data-explorer.oecd.org/
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets and an interactive Health data database. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. Includes data from 1983 to the present. (source oecd)
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Index to U.S. foreign and domestic public policy reports. (Policy File) [1990 - present]
Covers the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.
UN Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to United Nations documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and selected publications. Most material is full text since 1993 with bibliographic records for print UN documents since 1979.
Includes linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document. Older documents are added regularly. Also includes resolutions of all UN principal organs & Security Council plenary documents since 1946.
Contains materials previously hosted at UNBISnet.
UN iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Global search and discovery for digital publications and documents created by the United Nations. Much of this content is open access: the database provides enhanced discovery and browsing at the chapter level back to 1947.
Every year around 500 new titles are added to the collection (approximately 70% of which are in English) and cover: Agriculture & Rural Development; Children and Youth ; Democracy and Governance ; Disarmament , Drugs, Crime and Terrorism; Economic and Social Development ; Environment and Climate Change ; Human Rights and Refugees; Human Settlements and Urban Issues; International Law; Migration; Natural Resources; Peacekeeping and Security; Population and Demography; Public Health; Transportation; and Women and Gender Issues. 
Water Intelligence Online This link opens in a new window
Digital reference library from the International Water Association.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Dissertations & Theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California. (Dissertations & Theses - Proquest Digital Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) - Dissertation Abstracts - ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) [1861 - present]
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997 . It is possible to search a subset of dissertations produced by UC students by going to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and master theses in thousands of libraries worldwide. (WorldCatDissertations)
Lists over 5 million dissertations and master's theses found in the WorldCat database. Also lists some published materials based on dissertations or theses. Coverage includes some items published prior to 1861.

Secondary menu