Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Fish Ecology: Finding Articles

Resources for ESPM C115C / IB C176L

Start Your Search

Start Your Search, on the Library's website is a good place to get started to find articles, books, news, and more. Note that using a filter to limit to 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed),' may exclude many scholarly books.

More on Start Your Search, including what is and isn't included.

Top Research Databases for Fish Ecology

Use one or more of these databases to find articles, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials relevant to research in fish ecology:

Top choice

*Try switching your BIOSIS (or Web of Science) search to All Databases (under Select a database) to search more content.*

Databases with broad coverage in the sciences

Other specialized databases worth trying, depending on your topic

Getting connected

Review and Tips from Bio 1B

Where's the PDF?

Once you've searched a database to find articles, use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a general rule is: when you see  (UC-eLinks icon), click on it to view your article access options, which can range from online full text, to checking OskiCat for print, to an Interlibrary Loan request:

You can also use Citation Linker to find full text from a full or partial citation.

For 2019-present Elsevier journal articles (as well as articles in other journals that the Library does not have subscriptions for), alternative access methods include searching for open access copies using browser plugins like Unpaywall and Open Access Button.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

The Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) assists UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff request books, articles and other materials not available at UC Berkeley using Melvyl and other IBS tools

Citation Linker: Finding the article when you have a citation

Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it is available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the paper journal in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.