It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
Start Your Search, on the Library's website is a good place to get started to find articles, books, news, and more. Note that using a filter to limit to 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed),' may exclude many scholarly books.
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
*Try switching your BIOSIS (or Web of Science) search to All Databases (under Select a database) to search more content.*
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles.
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Other specialized databases worth trying, depending on your topic
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Material from Bio 1B on finding the full text of articles.
Where's the PDF?
Once you've searched a database to find articles, use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a general rule is: when you see (UC-eLinks icon), click on it to view your article access options, which can range from online full text, to checking OskiCat for print, to an Interlibrary Loan request.
You can also use Citation Linker to get to UCeLinks and find full text from a full or partial citation.
For 2019-present Elsevier journal articles (as well as articles in other journals that the Library does not have subscriptions for), alternative access methods include choosing 'request this from the Library' from the UCeLinks menu and searching for open access copies using browser plugins like Unpaywall and Open Access Button.
Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley
The Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) assists UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff request books, articles and other materials not available at UC Berkeley using Melvyl and other IBS tools
Citation Linker: Finding the article when you have a citation
Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it is available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the paper journal in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.