US Government listings of public libraries, State Libraries and Federal Libraries. In addition to loaning books and possibly borrowing books for you from other libraries, public libraries also license online databases and e-books. Your library card may allow remote access to these resources.
Search and preview millions of books and journals digitized from library collections such as UC Berkeley. Titles out of copyright are available in full.
Searches the full text of books and many journal runs on many subjects, including some from the University of California libraries. The full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923).
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Full-text of books and other texts available, mostly published before 1923 and in the public domain, from a variety of Libraries.
Searches and displays the full text of books and other texts on many subjects. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Close to 10,000 volumes from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library book and serials collection is available through the Internet Archive: The Bancroft Library portal.
An index to books that are freely readable over the Internet
Index to more than a million English-language free books and journals available on the Web. Searchable by author, title and subject. Includes links to Hathi and Google.
"The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books."
Click on Search > Journals to limit journals by discipline
Lists more than 4000 open access scholarly journals that are available freely. Covers all subjects and languages. 319 of the journals are searchable on article level.
While many articles are behind institutional subscriber walls, you can often find links to open access archives for scholarly materials. Go to Settings > Library Links and enter the name of a nearby academic library to add links to that library's holdings to your Google Scholar search results. Check the Library's web site about public access and bring a flash drive for downloading articles.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Database is primarily composed of links to online newspapers, but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
A portal to online news sources from around the world. The database is primarily composed of links to online newspapers, but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies. ABYZ News Links does not contain actual news content but only links to other news sources.
This guide, created by a librarian at Bowling Green University, attempts to provide links to every publicly accessible digitized historical newspaper in the United States.
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
Brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America's heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
Provides a suite of open access, scholarly publishing services and research tools that enable departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship.
eScholarship provides a suite of open access, scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide.
Full-text of books and other texts available, mostly published before 1923 and in the public domain, from a variety of Libraries.
Searches and displays the full text of books and other texts on many subjects. This archive was created in part by the Open Content Alliance, which includes the University of California. All materials are in the public domain. Close to 10,000 volumes from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library book and serials collection is available through the Internet Archive: The Bancroft Library portal.
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
Items from the British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment. [1896-1970]
A digital news archive that allows users to preview items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
Digital historical maps from library collections around the world.
Gateway to digital historical maps from library collections around the world. Search by place-name or by clicking on the map window, and narrow by date. Search results then provide a direct link to the image map on the website of the host institution. A collaboration between the Great Britain Historical GIS Project based at the University of Portsmouth, UK and Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland.
Collection of spoken word recordings, including political and cultural leaders and minor players in the human drama are captured.
Index to the Vincent Voice Library, a collection of speeches, performances, lectures, interviews, broadcasts, etc. by over 50,000 people, recorded over the last 100 years.
Freely Available Dissertations and Theses Databases
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization that, through leadership and innovation, promotes the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations.
Give us a scholarly paper and we’ll search thousands of sources with millions of articles to link you to free, legal, full text articles instantly. If we can’t get you access, we’ll start a request from authors, and guide them on making the work available to you and everyone who needs it. Use either the website, browser extensions or API.
Find open-access versions of paywalled research papers, instantly. Get free, legal fulltext of research papers as you browse. When you view a paywalled research article, Unpaywall automatically looks for a copy in an index of over 10 million free, legal fulltext PDFs. If we find one, click the green tab to read the article.
