Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

About the Chemistry Library: Overview

An overview of the Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Library's collections and services

Hours & Location

Chemistry Library website
The Chemistry Library's location, hours, resources, services, events, and contact information

Location
100 Hildebrand Hall on the University of California, Berkeley campus

Floor plan

Hours
Current hours information for all of the UC Berkeley Libraries

Collections

The Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Library's services and collections primarily support the teaching and research needs of the College of Chemistry faculty, students, and staff.

The collections include 70,000 volumes and over 700 current journal titles in chemistry and chemical engineering. Almost all of the current journals are available electronically. Major reference sources include Scifinder Scholar, Reaxys, Science of Synthesis, and the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.

Other campus libraries whose collections serve the field of chemistry are the Bioscience & Natural Resources LibraryEngineering Library, and Physics Library.

Use of the Collections

The Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Library collections and services are open to the public except for the use of the SciFinder Scholar.

Use of SciFinder Scholar is strictly restricted to UC students, faculty and staff.  It is limited to academic purposes only; no commercial use.

Most unbound journals are shelved in alphabetical order in the reading room's Current Periodicals section. The bound journals are shelved in the journals section of the stacks in alphabetical order.

Books are shelved separately in the books collection stacks by Library of Congress call number arrangementVisitors to the UCB libraries who wish to borrow materials should view the UCB Library privileges page, or contact the Privileges Desk (Doe Library, floor 1) at (510) 642-3403.

Printing, Scanning and Copying Services

Printing and scanning services are available.

Library users with College of Chemistry accounts may also use the separate photocopier provided by the College of Chemistry.