Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

History of Architecture: Getting started

This is a brief bibliographic guide to general resources for researching architectural history in the Environmental Design Library, UC Berkeley

Introduction

This is a brief bibliographic guide to general resources for researching architectural history in the Environmental Design Library, UC Berkeley. It includes selected reference works, both print and electronic, and important historical surveys. For additional assistance please consult our other guides, in particular, Architecture Resources, which is a broader, more comprehensive list. Check the Library catalogs or the Environmental Design Library reference staff for further assistance.

Writing and Researching

For additional resources, see also Designing a Research Strategy, especially the sections on Style Manuals and Guides and Thesis/Dissertation Writing and Research.

Contact Information

Bibliographies, Guides to the Literature

For a more general list of architectural bibliographies, consult Architecture Resources: Indexes, Abstracts, and Bibliographies. See also Key Resources for Art Historical Research and Library Catalogs and Special Collections in Architecture.