Library Guides: History of Architecture: Periodicals and Newspapers

Periodical databases

For a broader list of general architectural indexes, see Architecture Periodical Indexes & Abstracts. A list of general indexes available online to UCB users is available on the UCB Library homepage.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Formerly titled Art Source or Art Full Text
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. [1929-1984]
Includes citations to art reproductions. Provides citations from Volumes 1-32 of the print counterpart, Art Index. (Art Index Retro - Art Index)
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of the current literature of modern and contemporary art, photography and design. [1974 - present]
Indexes journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Coverage extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Part of Web of Knowledge that indexes over 1,000 leading arts and humanities journals, and allows searching of citations as well as subsequent articles that cite an article. (Web of Science) [1975 - present]
For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and professional journals covering architecture, architectural design, environmental design, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. [1860s - present]
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are citation databases searchable together, and cover material published between 1975 and 2007, primarily covering European and American art.
Includes articles from over 1,200 journals. For material published after 2007, see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
DYABOLA This link opens in a new window
A catalog of one of the world's largest and oldest collections of books, journals, and research material on Classical, Egyptian, and Near Eastern archaeology, Byzantine art, epigraphy, numismatics and ancient history. [dates vary]
The Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance is an image database of ancient works of art known during the Renaissance, along with information about them: authorship; conventional title; provenance; current and former locations; Renaissance texts discussing them; and some modern scholarship. It includes 10,000 ancient monuments, 20,000 references to Renaissance texts, and 30,000 photographs.
PASCAL and FRANCIS Archive This link opens in a new window
Both bibliographic databases ceased in 2015 but are freely available through INIST-CNRS. FRANCIS indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other European sources covering the humanities and social sciences (1972-2015). PASCAL offers bibliographic indexing of core scientific literature, and provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage for science, technology, and medicine with special emphasis on European content (1984-2015).
The PASCAL-FRANCIS Archive will become progressively enriched with other document types and with records of partners having previously cooperated with PASCAL and FRANCIS.
Historical Abstracts
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, artists, architectural design, exhibitions and sales, and advertisements to provide nearly complete coverage of art journals. (Index to Nineteenth-Century American Art Periodicals)
Offers information on popular culture and industry, artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decorations, and collecting.
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) This link opens in a new window
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.

RIBA British Architectural Library online catalogue
Online catalog of the British Architectural Library. (API Online - Architectural Publications Index) [1984 - present]

Proceedings and Conference Papers

See also the Engineering Library's guide, How to Find Conference Proceedings.

PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
OCLC index to individual papers presented at conferences and symposia worldwide.
Indexes papers presented at conferences, symposia, meetings, expositions, workshops, and congresses worldwide in a variety of disciplines, including the arts, humanities, social sciences, physical and life sciences, biological and medical sciences,
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
OCLC index to conferences and proceedings worldwide. Each proceedings provides a list of papers presented. Individual records for each paper may be found in the PapersFirst database, cited above.
Indexes proceedings, the list of all papers presented, at conferences, symposia, meetings, expositions, and congresses worldwide in a variety of disciplines, including the arts, humanities, social sciences, physical and life sciences, biological and medical sciences, engineering, technology, history, general interest, and reference topics. References to individual papers will be found in the PapersFirst database.

Newspaper Indexes

In addition to the indexes listed here, some newspapers are available full-text on the Web. Information regarding older issues is often available at these sites. See the News Databases for a list of links to online indexes and full-text local and international newspapers.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Historical Newspapers Online This link opens in a new window
Full text and index of newspapers covering British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes digitized articles from the Times (London) from 1800-1870, as well citations to the Times (London) from 1790-1980, and a partial index of the New York Times from 1863-1922. (Palmer's Full Text Online - Palmer's Index to the Times - Official Index to the Times - Historical Index to the New York Times)
Indexes newspapers covering all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains four major historical resources: Palmer's Index to the Times which covers The Times (London, 1790-1905); The Official Index to the Times (1906-1980); The Historical Index to the New York Times (1863- 1922); and Palmer's Full Text Online (1785-1870).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]

Print Indexes

Architectural publications index (API) Periodicals indexed and books catalogued by the British Architectural Library. London: Published for the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects by RIBA publications, 1995.API is a quarterly publication with an annual cumulation that includes a series and special issues index as well as names, subject headings, topographical and building names index.
Bibliographie zur Architektur im 19. Jahrhundert, die Aufsatze in den deutschsprachigen Architekturzeitschriften 1789-1918, ed. by Stephan Waetzoldt. Nendeln: KTO Press, 1977. 8-volume index of German-language architectural periodical literature focuses on German and central European architecture. 1789–1918. Volume 8 includes indexes by architect, author and place. Each volume has tables of contents with subjects in German and English. A list of journals indexed appears in volume 1.
The Burnham index to architectural literature. New York: Garland Pub., 1989. Indexes more than 200 journals and several hundred monographs. Compiled by the Burnham Library of Architecture at the Chicago Art Institute, 1919-1965. Better coverage of California than Avery Index for early part of the 20th century.
Index to Historic Preservation Periodicals published by the National Trust for Historic Preservation Library. Print volume 1 covers articles published from 1979-1987, and a supplement covers 1987-1990. It indexes local publications such as Oakland HeritageAlliance News, BAHA News, Heritage Newsletter (San Francisco's Architectural Heritage) and California Preservation.
The new Craftsman index, an annotated chronology, subject and author index of Gustav Stickley's The Craftsman, 1901-1916, Marilyn Fish. Lambertville, NJ: Arts and Crafts Quarterly Press, 1997. Indexes the original journal (EnvDesign N1.C87 Rare), an excellent source for turn-of-the-century design history. Also available on CD-ROM.
Repertoire de art et d'architecture. Paris: Bibliotheque d'art et d'archeologie, 1910-1989. Classified listing of books and journals on art and architecture worldwide until 1964, when coverage of antiquity, Islamic and Asian art pre-20th century stopped.
Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art, RILA, International repertory of the literature of art. New York: College Art Association of America, 1975-1989. Abstracts and indexes books, periodical articles, Festschriften, exhibition catalogs, dissertations on post-classical European and post-Columbian American art.

Secondary menu

History of Architecture: Periodicals and Newspapers

Periodical databases

Proceedings and Conference Papers

Newspaper Indexes

Print Indexes