It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archival and other original, unpublished materials are often difficult to locate, so check in directories of archives and special collections to locate manuscripts, drawings and other unpublished materials. See Archival Collections and Primary Source Databases for additional archival sources.
Using archival materials For information on locating and using archives and special collections, see these research guides.:
How to research in an archive(Univ. of Texas, Austin, Alexander Architectural Archive) An excellent introduction to effective and efficient use of an archive.
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
Combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. (World Cat - WCAT)
Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. This is the original, subscription version of WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services - and includes the CURL Union catalog. Also available: WorldCat.org or through the Advanced Search in UC Library Search
A noncirculating special research collection of books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, plans, and other materials, the Bancroft Library also houses the University Archives. Most holdings are listed in the library catalogs.
Provides primary source material for scholarly research, teaching support and preservation on the work of nearly 100 of the San Francisco Bay Region's historically significant architects, landscape architects and firms.