Directory describing primary source material. (Archives USA)
Describes tens of thousands of collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California including the 10 UC campuses.
A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
Combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. Users can leave comments about an item, automatically format citations, or export information to EndNote or RefWorks.
A noncirculating special research collection of books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, plans, and other materials, the Bancroft Library also houses the University Archives. Most holdings are listed in the library catalogs.
The California Historical Society, founded in 1871, is a nonprofit organization with a mission to inspire and empower people to make California's richly diverse past a meaningful part of their contemporary lives. The CHS Collection comprises a diverse body of materials documenting the history of California.
Holdings are "comprised of Federal records from northern and central California, Nevada (except Clark County), Hawaii, American Samoa and the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands."
This collection includes regional and historic maps, original drawings, plans, elevations, photographs, and blueprints of residential and commercial architecture, community project plans, city/town plans, historic restoration plans and aerial photographs. The bulk of the materials are focused on, but, not limited to the areas of Miami-Dade, Coral Gables, and Miami Beach.
Northwest Architectural Archives (NAA) is the repository for the records of architects, engineers, contractors, landscape architects, interior designers, academics, and local professional societies from the Midwest region with works that extend throughout the United States and the world.
This section of the guide provides comprehensive coverage of the collections for which the primary body of an architect’s, designer’s, or engineer’s work is in the Prints & Photographs Division. The combined chronological range and qualitative depth of the holdings includes individuals and firms whose professional contributions have significantly influenced or defined developments in the fields of American architecture, design, and engineering.
Avery Library’s Drawings & Archives department collects drawings, photographs, and architectural records documenting architecture and design practices. Our collections focus largely on American and New York City architecture of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners.
Manuscripts and Archives advances Yale University's teaching and research missions by acquiring, preserving, and making available historical materials from a variety of sources
