There are many different ways to search through the Gold Rush materials in our digital collections. You can browse by subject, creator, geographic location, format (such as correspondence, diaries, etc.), date, or collection. All collections and search results display as a list of items with thumbnails.
You can filter or refine your search results by clicking the Options button in the upper right of the page, which will reveal dropdown menus for advanced search, or by selecting by Publication Type (text/image), Collection, or Year on the left side of the page.
When you select an item, the item record page will have information about the item below the image viewer. Clicking on any of the blue hyperlinked terms will take you to a list of search results for all items in our digital collections that share that particular creator, subject, geographic coverage, or format. See the other tabs in this guide for lists of all the common subject and format terms used for the Gold Rush materials.
Towards the bottom of the page, the hyperlinked collection term will take you to a list of all digitized items from this item's manuscript collection. See the other tabs in this guide for a list of all the Gold Rush related collections.
At the bottom of the page, you can click the button to download the scanned images to view offline. Please note the Usage Statement on the item record page and consult our Permissions Policies at the Bancroft Library or Guide to Duplication and Permission Services at the Bancroft if you are considering using any of these digitized items beyond what is permitted by Fair Use (Title 17, U.S.C. § 107).