Find Books and Articles - Landscape Architecture 101 - Fundamentals of Landscape Design

Finding books

FIND BOOKS for an in-depth discussion of your precedent. Note that for many topics you will not find an entire book; instead, you may find a chapter or an essay in a book focused on a general aspect of your precedent (refer to your deconstruction list for ideas). Example: a book on urban parks might include information about Golden Gate Park.

Finding Articles

FIND ARTICLES for current and retrospective information. Use PERIODICAL INDEXES to identify articles within periodical and newspaper titles.

Journals, Periodicals, Magazines, and Serials -- these terms refer to the same thing. Journal articles are generally NOTincluded in the Library Catalogs.
Use Environmental Design Library indexes and abstracts to expand your search on your topic:
- Architecture Indexes | Landscape Architecture Indexes | City Planning Indexes
Use the UCB list of Electronic Resources: Article Databases to identify other related indexes. Not all articles or journals are available electronically, full text. Some indexes use to look up call numbers and locations for print journals. Use Library's catalogs to look up journal call numbers in indexes that don't use UC e-links. Search under the title of the journal.

Search Terms

In the Library's catalogs use keywords or subject headings to search for title, subject, author, or corporate author.

Search for a time period:
Architecture, Postmodern
Gardens, Renaissance
Landscape Architecture, 20th century

Search for a type of landscape or site:
Cemeteries
Gardens, Islamic
Landscape gardening
Urban parks
Water in landscape architecture
Waterfronts

Search for a location: city, state, or country:
Gardens--France
Landscape Architecture--New York
Plazas--Italy

Search for a specific landscape architect or designer:
Burle Marx, Roberto
Gustafson, Kathryn
Kiley, Dan

Search for a specific project or site:
Biltmore Estate--North Carolina
Golden Gate Park--San Francisco, California
Taj Mahal--India

Search for firms or organizations using corporate authors such as:
Hargreaves Associates
American Society of Landscape Architects
Olmsted Brothers

Article Databases

Here is a selection of indexes that are especially helpful for landscape architecture research. When searching for your precedent, remember to use truncation or wildcards (* or ?) for variations of words (e.g., park*)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
America: History and Life
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 6/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Formerly titled Art Source or Art Full Text
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. [1929-1984]
Includes citations to art reproductions. Provides citations from Volumes 1-32 of the print counterpart, Art Index. (Art Index Retro - Art Index)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and professional journals covering architecture, architectural design, environmental design, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. [1860s - present]
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, and more. [1971 - present]
Over 500,000 citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of the History of Art and Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) are citation databases searchable together, and cover material published between 1975 and 2007, primarily covering European and American art.
Includes articles from over 1,200 journals. For material published after 2007, see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
Historical Abstracts
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI) This link opens in a new window
Index of thousands of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. (Periodicals Contents Index) [1802 - 1995]
Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.

ProQuest Direct (Research Library)
UCB Only. Indexes more than 1,000 magazines and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Includes some full text. Coverage includes 1975 to the present.

Secondary menu

Landscape Architecture 101 - Fundamentals of Landscape Design: Find Books and Articles

Finding books

Finding Articles

Search Terms

Article Databases