Find Images and Plans - Landscape Architecture 101 - Fundamentals of Landscape Design

Selected titles for image and plans

Aerial photography and image interpretation [ebook]by David P. Paine and James D. Kiser. Chichester, UK : Wiley, 2012.
Decorating Eden : a comprehensive sourcebook of classic garden details, Elizabeth Wilkinson and Marjorie Henderson, eds. San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c1992.
Great European gardens: an atlas of historic plans, by Sven-Ingvar Andersson, Margrethe Floryan. Copenhagen: Danish Architectural Pr., 2005.
Index to Italian architecture: a guide to key monuments and reproduction sources, Edward H. Teague, comp. NY: Greenwood Pr., 1992. Indexes illustrations of approximately 1,800 architectural works in standard books on Italian architecture (UC Berkeley call numbers are annotated in the front of the book). Includes landscapes. Lists the type of illustration to be found, e.g., plans, sections, and elevations.
Landscape architecture: an illustrated history in timelines, site plans, and biography, by William A. Mann. NY: John Wiley, 1993.
The Phaidon atlas of contemporary world architecture. NY: Phaidon, 2004. Includes color photographs and measured drawings for buildings and landscapes, constructed from 1998.
The Phaidon atlas of 21st century world architecture. NY: Phaidon, 2008. Includes color photographs and measured drawings for buildings and landscapes, constructed since January 2000.
The public chance : nuevos paisajes urbanos = New urban landscapes, by Aurora Fernandez Per, Javier Arpa. Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain : a+t ediciones, 2008. Well-illustrated with plans and photographs. International scope.
World architecture index: a guide to illustrations, Edward H. Teague, comp. NY: Greenwood Press, 1991. Indexes illustrations of 7,200+ architectural works in standard books on world architecture (UC Berkeley call numbers are annotated in the front of the book). Includes landscapes. Lists the type of illustration to be found, e.g., plans, sections, and elevations.

Searching for images

Use these resources to find more images.

Aerial Photography Collection
includes some online images. Originals available at the Earth Sciences and Maps Library. Photographs of campus from as long ago as 1928.

Jstor Images (formerly ARTstor) This link opens in a new window
A repository of more than 1 million high resolution art, architecture, and design images with associated catalog data.
A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.

The Earth Sciences and Map Library has an excellent collection of aerial photos of California, 1939--present.

Note that archives are often an excellent source of images. See the guide Image Sources for the Built Environment or Image and Sound databases for more resources.

Secondary menu

Landscape Architecture 101 - Fundamentals of Landscape Design: Find Images and Plans

Selected titles for image and plans

Searching for images