Specialized Reference Sources - Landscape Architecture 101 - Fundamentals of Landscape Design

Search tips

FILL-IN THE BLANKS with basic facts. Search reference sources for an overview of your precedent.Note particular keywords, terms, authors, bibliographies, and footnotes. Learn specific project names, designers, locations, and dates designed and constructed. Add this information to your deconstruction notes. Use your facts to help your search. If you don't have enough information on your specific site, try searching for the designer, the style of the site or a survey of multiple sites within that country.

Dictionaries

For basic landscape architecture dictionaries see Landscape Architecture Reference Sources.

Print Dictionaries:

Dictionary of landscape architecture and construction, by Alan Jay Christensen. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2005.
Lexicon of garden and landscape architecture, by Meto J. Vroom. Boston: Birkhauser-Publishers for Architecture, 2006. Contains short illustrated articles on landscape architecture concepts and practices.

Online Resources:

Encyclopedic dictionary of landscape and urban planning: multilingual reference in English, Spanish, French, and German
UCB only Klaus-Jürgen Evert. Berlin: Springer Berlin, 2010. Directions:Whether searching for a specific term or browsing, with your initial click on an entry, you will be directed to an abstract page. The definition and alternate language terms are not on this page. Click on the View Printer Friendly Version link. This will take you to the definition and translation page or a see also page. For see also pages, click on the alternate term given.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture This link opens in a new window
Access to a number of art, architecture and design dictionaries published by Oxford University Press.
Access to a number of art, architecture and design dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Search sources collectively or search within an individual title.

Landscape Architects

See the bibliographic guide Biographical Information on Landscape Architects for a comprehensive listing of biographical resources

American landscape architecture: designers and places, William H. Tishler, ed. Washington, DC: Preservation Pr., 1989.
Dictionary of today's landscape designers, Pierluigi Nicolin, Francesco Repishti, eds. London: Thames & Hudson, 2003. For 86 international contemporary landscape architects and designers, engineers, artists, and more, provides a biographical note, a list of works and related bibliography, and color photographs of significant designs.
Influential gardeners: the designers who shaped 20th-century garden style, by Andrew Wilson. NY: Clarkson Potter/Publisher, 2002. Includes illustrated biographies of 57 international landscape architects and designers.
Pioneers of American landscape design, Charles A. Birnbaum, Robin Karson, eds. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2000. Contains excellent biographical essays about 160 American landscape architects and designers and their work. Each essay includes a brief bibliography. Illustrated.
Shaping the American landscape: new profiles from the pioneers of American landscape design project,Charles A. Birnbaum, Stephanie S. Foell, eds. Charlottesville: Univ. of Virginia Pr., 2009. Contains excellent biographical essays about 160 American landscape architects and designers and their work. Each essay includes a brief bibliography. Illustrated.

Bibliographies

Bibliographies are lists of writings or citations on a particular subject, time period, or author. Look at book chapters, textbooks, and articles for additional bibliographies and footnotes.

Other helpful guides

Environmental Design Library Research Guides for research in the history of the built environment. Guides include both print and web materials.

Campus Libraries

Here's a selection of UCB campus libraries with collections of interest to LA 101 students.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

The Architecture handbook: a student guide to understanding buildings, by Jennifer Masengarb with Krisann Rehbein. Chicago: Chicago Architecture Foundation, 2007. See Chapter 7: Orientation of the building to the site and Chapter 8:Topography & Landscape.
Great city parks, by Alan Tate. NY: Spon Press, 2004. Covers 20 public parks in 14 American and Western European cities.
Encyclopedia of gardens: history and design, Chicago Botanic Garden. Candice A. Shoemaker, ed. 3 vols. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. Excellent source for landscape design history. Substantive signed articles are illustrated; each includes a brief bibliography. Chronologies of selected projects are given for landscape designers.
European gardens: an historical atlas, by Virgilio Vercelloni. NY: Rizzoli, 1990. Chronological arrangement with great illustrations, some color. Index, bibliography.
The Oxford companion to the garden, Patrick Taylor, ed. NY: Oxford Univ. Pr., 2006. A one-volume encyclopedia of short authoritative articles on notable gardens, landscape designers, garden features, etc. New ed. of the classic The Oxford companion to gardens. Selectively illustrated. Bibliography: pp.531-538.

Also see the following electronic resources.

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of The 34 vol. Dictionary of art, Jane Turner, ed. NY: Grove, 1996. Contains 45,000+ articles on the visual arts, including architecture, from prehistory to the present. Excellent bibliographies and links to images and related sites.
Online version of the Grove Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes). Contains articles on every aspect of visual arts including painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Also includes biographical information on major artists, bibliographical references and links to images. (Part of the Oxford Art Online suite.)

Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia
Includes more millions of articles written collaboratively by contributors around the world.
more...less...
Includes more millions of articles written collaboratively by contributors around the world. The site is a "wiki" which means that anyone can edit articles simply by clicking on the "edit this page" link that appears at the top of each page.

General Histories & Surveys

General histories and surveys provide an overview and the context of a topic, with dates, locations, special sites, and the names of architects or designers. They usually include bibliographies. Here is a sample of the landscape architecture histories and surveys in the Environmental Design Library.

1000 x landscape architecture, project coordination, Chris van Uffelen. [London: Thames & Hudson distributor], 2009. Includes photographs, plans, and drawings of gardens and parks. International. Coverage is approximately 1999-2009.
Architecture and landscape: the design experiment of the great European gardens and landscapes, by Clemens Steenbergen and Wouter Rey. Rev. and expanded ed. Boston: Birkhauser, 2003. Includes some measured plans and topographical details. Western European focus.
The Architecture of western gardens: a design history from the Renaissance to the present day, Monique Mosser and Georges Teyssot, eds. Cambridge, MA: MIT Pr., 1991. Well-illustrated with photographs and plans.
The Art of the Islamic garden, by Emma Clark. Ramsbury: Crowood, 2004. Includes an extensive bibliography.
Changes in scenery: contemporary landscape architecture in Europe, by Thies Schroder. Updated and rev. ed. Boston: Birkhauser, 2002.
Contemporary history of garden design: European gardens between art and architecture, by Penelope Hill. Includes a selection of 20th and 21st century designed landscapes at various scales. Illustrated. Boston: Birkhauser, 2004.
Decorating Eden : a comprehensive sourcebook of classic garden details, Elizabeth Wilkinson and Marjorie Henderson, eds. San Francisco : Chronicle Books, c1992.
Gardens of paradise: the history and design of the great Islamic gardens, by John Brookes. NY: New Amsterdam, 1987.
The Golden age of American gardens: proud owners, private estates, 1890-1940, by Mac Griswold, Eleanor Weller. NY: H.N. Abrams, in association with the Garden Club of America, 1991. Includes extensive notes and bibliography.
The History of garden design: the western tradition from the Renaissance to the present day, Monique Mosser and Georges Teyssot, eds. London: Thames & Hudson, 1991. 652 illustrations and 51 specially drawn plans.
Landscape architects, by Martin Ashton. Mexico D.F., Mexico: Atrium Internacional de Mexico, 2002. Features the work of 19 international modern landscape architects and firms. Well-illustrated. Text in English and Spanish.
Landscape design: a cultural and architectural history, by Elizabeth Barlow Rogers. NY: Harry N. Abrams, 2001.
EnvDesign SB470.5 R64 2001 Reference Desk, Reserve & circulating
The Landscape of man: shaping the environment from prehistory to the present day, by Geoffrey & Susan Jellicoe. 3rd ed., expanded & updated, rev. & enl. ed. NY: Thames and Hudson, 1995. Includes black and white photos, plans, and drawings.
New landscape architecture, by Nicolette Baumeister. Berlin: Verlagshaus Braun, 2007. Includes photographs and plans. International.
The Park and the town: public landscape in the 19th and 20th centuries, by George F. Chadwick. London: Architectural Pr., 1966. Covers the development of public parks in the U.S. and Europe. Includes illustrations and a bibliography.
Urban spaces: new city parks, by Jacobo Krauel; text contributed by the architects, ed. and transl. by William George and Jay Noden. [Barcelona]: Links, 2008. Includes photographs and plans. International.

Secondary menu

Landscape Architecture 101 - Fundamentals of Landscape Design: Specialized Reference Sources