Library Guides: Introduction to Italian Renaissance Art / The Italian Renaissance: Finding Articles

General Article Databases

Databases are collections of thousands of articles (and often book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other items) organized by subject. The Libraries have hundreds of databases covering every academic discipline. Some are multi-disciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects and including popular and scholarly sources, and others are subject-specific, and include scholarly and specialized articles.

The following multi-disciplinary databases are good places to start your research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Setting Google Scholar for UC Content

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Easily search across all ProQuest databases that UC Berkeley subscribes to. Content ranges from historical newspapers, ebooks from the Ebook Central collection, to subject specific databases in the sciences, arts, and humanities.
To limit your search to a specific set of databases, select from the "Databases" tab in the top menu.

Art Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Formerly titled Art Source or Art Full Text
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly and professional journals covering architecture, architectural design, environmental design, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, landscape architecture, and urban design. [1860s - present]
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
A successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). (2008 - present)
This database covers international scholarship in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Visual arts in all media are covered: painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history. Over 500 core journals are indexed, as well as monographs, essays, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogs.
ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). [1883 - present]
Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).
KuBiKat This link opens in a new window
The Union Catalogue of three German research institutes (Kunsthistorisches Institut/Max Planck Institut, Florence; Zentralinstitut fur Kunstgeschichte, Munich; Biblioteca Hertziana/Max Planck Institut, Rome). Includes coverage of articles in periodicals, books, and e-journals.
KuBiKat was initiated by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gateway to art research and access point for Oxford art reference resources, including Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Secondary menu

Introduction to Italian Renaissance Art / The Italian Renaissance: Finding Articles

General Article Databases

Art Databases

How to Identify a Scholarly Article