Skip to Main Content
Log in to your Library account
Hours and Maps
Connect from Off Campus
UC Berkeley Home
Search this Guide
African Studies: Reference
Historical Primary Sources
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Africa
Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor)
The most up-to-date and thorough reference in world history, politics, and culture on this region.
Oxford encyclopedia of African historiography
First comprehensive collection of the methods and sources that scholars use to explore African history.
Africa Yearbook Online
The Africa Yearbook covers major domestic political developments, the foreign policy and socio-economic trends in sub-Sahara Africa year by year.
Encyclopedia of African colonial conflicts
Examines the wars of colonial conquest fought in Africa during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Garland handbook of African music
Detailed, regional studies of the different musical cultures of Africa and examine the ways in which music helps to define identity.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
Explores the ways in which the peoples of Africa and their politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures and arts were transformed during the last century.
Encyclopedia of African Literature
Simon Gikandi (Editor)
Call Number: MAIN Doe Reference PL8010 .E63 2003
Publication Date: 2003
The Berkeley Library also has many other
encyclopedias in print
Encyclopedia of African Religions and Philosophy
Presents African thinkers, concepts, and traditions; considers many religious and philosophical systems of Africa
African leaders : guiding the new millennium
An African biographical dictionary
Brockman, Norbert C., 1934-
The Companion to African Literatures
Douglas Killam (Editor); Ruth Rowe
Call Number: Z3501 .M3 2007 Doe Reference Reference Hall
African Books in Print
Current Bibliography on African Affairs
International African Bibliography
Reference Guide to Africa
Resources for College Libraries
Marcus Elmore (Editor)
Publishing, Books & Reading in Sub-Saharan Africa: A Critical Bibliography
UNESCO General History of Africa
Joseph Ki-Zerbo (Editor); UNESCO Staff
Historical Dictionary of Nigeria
Toyin Falola; Ann Genova; Falola/Genova
A Political and Economic Dictionary of Africa
Daniel Seddon-Daines (As told to); David Seddon
Encyclopedias in Print
Oct 10, 2023 3:57 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Global and Area Studies