Library Guides: African Studies: Articles

Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on all aspects of Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences. (Africa-Wide NiPAD) [19th century - present]
Includes: Nordic Africa Institute Online Catalogue (NOAK); IBISCUS (1970 to 2001); School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue: Africa; Afro-Tropical Bird Information Retrieval Database; The Campbell Collections of the University of Natal, Killie Campbell Africana Library Bibliography; International Library of African Music (ILAM); African Development Database; African Journals OnLine (AJOL); South African Databases; Witwatersrand University Management Research Reports; and more.
African Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles published in Africa from over 200 journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
A retrospective digitization project of full-text journal articles published in Africa. Includes journals covering the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa's research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature. Journal articles hosted on the Archive extend back to the first issue (if available) and end with the last pre-current issue (determined by the publisher). The site includes over 700 issues of journal archives of academic, scholarly, institutional, museums, and professional research organizations in Africa. Selected articles are freely available; not all content is open access.
African Journals Online (AJOL) This link opens in a new window
African Journals Online is the world's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access. Please note: UC Berkeley does not have a subscription to the content behind a paywall. To view a list limited directly to AJOL's Open Access journals, click here.
AllAfrica.com This link opens in a new window
As subscribers, we also have access to a more powerful AllAfrica Advanced Search engine (https://allafrica.com/search/advanced.html)
Also includes press releases and documents from 500 governments and non-governmental organizations in and outside of Africa. 30% of articles are in French.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database with articles on a wide range of topics.
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Historical Abstracts
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 06/30/23 due to library budget cuts. Please use Google Scholar or BASE as alternatives. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
Excludes US and Canada. Covers from 1450 to the present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to comparative politics, developing nations, history and theory of political science, political psychology, political economy, public administration, and public policy. [1975 - present]
International in scope.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. [1906 - present]
Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Cairn This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences, includes coverage of African Studies.
Offers the most comprehensive collection of French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. UC Berkeley subscribes to the complete package or "Bouquet General" which includes the full text of more than 500 peer-reviewed academic journals. It also provides citations and links to the open-access back issues to many scholarly journals available through OpenEdition Journals. For back issues not available through Cairn, search Persee.fr. UCB has also purchased access to a selection of ebooks through Cairn, available in the library catalog.
Black Studies Center (BSC) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.
Includes three modules: The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience which includes interdisciplinary essays on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), a database covering some 150 scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, many of them in full text; and the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
An online portal serving the research, teaching and practical needs of anthropologists. Citations for articles published in American Anthropological Association journals. [1880 - present]
An electronic portal to the 32 journals of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Archeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, PoLAR: Political and Legal Anthropology Review, and more. Users' access to this resource will be blocked after extended login periods. To avoid blocked access, logout periodically and then log back in.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Indexes mostly primary source material on cultures or societies representing all major areas of the world. Includes many rare sources as well as English translations of foreign texts. HRAF (Human Relations Area Files.) (HRAF Collection of Ethnography - Human Relations Area Files)
Bibliography of Slavery and World Slaving This link opens in a new window
Index of over 25,000 scholarly works in all academic disciplines and in all western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world. [1900 - present]
It includes most known print and digital materials published since 1900 covering historical and modern times.

Quarterly Index of African Periodical Literature
An index of over 700 selected periodicals (mostly scholarly) acquired from 29 African countries. [1991 - 2011]

Sabinet

The Berkeley Library has just begun a two year pilot of Sabinet Social Science and Humanities E-Journals. These titles, along with most of the Library's e-content, can also be searched through "Start Your Search" from the Library website.

Secondary menu

African Studies: Articles

Articles

Sabinet