Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

African Studies: Film|News/Music

Music

Music Time in Africa Archive Digitized audio recordings, and the associated scripts (where available), of the radio program broadcast by the Voice of America in Africa beginning in 1965.

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online Includes fieldnotes and audio recordings of music from around the world.

Film

The Media Resources Center (MRC) in Moffitt Library is the UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of (audio and visual formats, including videocassettes, DVDs; compact audio discs; audiocassettes; and online audio and video. Materials in the MRC may be used on-site in the Center by current UC Berkeley students and staff, and increasingly online through a variety of streaming services.

Microform

The UC Berkeley Libraries has an extensive microform (microfilm and microfiche) collections, containing valuable information for researchers. The Africana Microform Collections Guide lists a large selection of Berkeley's holdings that include many primary source materials.

The Newspapers and Microforms Departments (40 Doe Library)  has machines that read, print, and scan images from microfilm and microfiche.

 

Microfilm and microfiche owned by the UC Berkeley Libraries can be found through OskiCat; use Advanced Keyword Search to limit your search to "All Microforms." In the News/Micro collection, microfilm rolls and microfiche cards are shelved with their own numbering system.

Newspapers

The Library's Newspaper & Microforms Room holds numerous African newspapers from the 19th century to currently-received titles.  Papers on microfilm are shelved in title order by country.  

The Stanford Library has one of the largest collections of African newspapers in print and microfilm in the United States.  These titles are available for on-site viewing by UCB afilliated persons.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) lends African newspapers on microfilm to UCB patrons.  Many titles are list on the Melvyl Catalog where you can request film by sent to Berkeley for use. CRL also hosts AFRINUL a union list of African newspapers held by research libraries.  This is not a complete list so double-check with each institution's catalog for complete holdings.

African historical and current newspapers are also available electronically through subscription databases and free sites. 

  • African Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive)
    Over 60 Sub-Saharan African newspapers published prior to 1923 included in full-text. A UCB subscription resource.
  • AllAfrica.com
    Provides current coverage of over 100 African newspapers and some NGO publications in English and French.  Berkeley's subscription provides backfile access to 1996.
  • Breaking News
    Reports of latest news. This site is maintained by Stanford University.
  • Electronic Newspapers of Africa
    This site providing a list of online newspapers is maintained by Columbia University.