Published and Manuscript: books, memoirs, letters, interviews, autobiographies, diaries, records of organizations, manuscript collections, speeches, fiction
Articles - magazines, newspapers; newspapers by title, by city, by subject
Government Information etc. - records of government organizations, Congressional information, US Census, Public Opinion polls, Supreme Court cases
Images and Sound - photographs, images, audio recordings, videos and DVDs, cartoons, advertisements
Books from the time period you're writing about
Memoirs, letters, interviews, autobiographies, diaries
Note: if the search results are too broad, try going to Advanced Search, then pull down the "any field" menu to "subject" and retry the search.
Ask for assistance in locating bibliographies and other reference tools that may help you find other titles.
Records of or materials published by an organization
Fiction from a particular time period
Wikipedia: List of years in literature
See American Fiction database listed below
Consult one of the following printed indexes:
to find titles of creative works; then check the library catalogs: UC Library Search to see if we own the title(s) you want.
Magazine or journal article from the time period you're writing about:
Newspaper article from the time period you're writing about - for a specific event or date
Specific newspaper or magazine title (example: Chicago Defender)
Newspaper titles by location or by subject
Records of government agencies
Lexis-Nexis Congressional includes:
United States Census
See the UCB Library guide about the US Census
Public Opinion Polls
Supreme Court cases
See UCB Library guide: US Judicial Branch (Courts)
http://supreme.justia.com/ by year
Making of Modern Law: US Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
A fully searchable collection of briefs and other documents related to cases brought before the U.S. Supreme Court. It contains over 150,000 cases and 350,000 documents. Search results are linked to the actual full-text PDF documents.
Lexis-Nexis Academic (Supreme Court briefs, 1936 - onwards).
click on Advanced Options; in the window that appears, next to Source, enter U.S. Supreme Court Case Briefs (or transcripts); accept the suggested text; click on Apply
back at the search screen, enter your additional search terms; your search will be limited to Supreme Court materials.
(example: world war 1939-1945 pictorial works)
Video recordings/DVDs- nonfiction
Movies from a particular time period