It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
Out-of-print classical religious Hebrew and Yiddish texts and periodicals.
Over 50,000 out-of-print classical religious Hebrew and Yiddish texts and periodicals. Freely available both for study and downloading. All searching is in Hebrew characters and a keyboard for input is provided. In Hebrew.
Rare printed books from the Valmadonna Library, a collection of Hebrew and Jewish books from India. Includes Hebrew poetry and liturgical history, early imprints from Calcutta, Bombay, Poona and Cochin, illustrated Haggadahs and Judeo-Urdu drama, Baghdadi and Yemenite poetry, Eastern Judeo-Arabic literature Marathi and Malayalam texts and translationsand vernacular writings of the Jews of South Asia.
From the world’s foremost private collection of early and rare Hebraica, this is an unparalleled resource for the study of oriental printing, Judeo-Arabic literature, Hebrew liturgy, and the history of the most ancient Jewish Diaspora community.
KOTAR is an online a library of scholarly works published in Hebrew over the past 50 years, in the fields of Israel and Jewish studies, literature, history, education, and sociology, as well as other topics in the humanities and social sciences.
KOTAR is also a digital work environment, in which readers may mark, annotate and write.
Digitized collection of all primary witnesses to the Babylonian Talmud.
The Saul Lieberman Institute for Talmudic Research at the Jewish Theological Seminary's Sol and Evelyn Henkin Talmud Text Database is a digitized collection of all primary witnesses to the Babylonian Talmud: first printed editions, full and fragmentary manuscripts (more than half of the known genizah fragments of the Talmud, and a large number of European binding fragments). Searches are in Hebrew only.
Collection of Jewish texts. Includes rabbinic case-law rulings, and the Bible. (Bar-Ilan Responsa Project - Online Responsa Project - Judaica Responsa - Global Jewish Database)
Also includes the Talumd and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law, codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch; Midrashim, Zohar, Responsa, etc. Access to the Talmudic Encyclopedia also included. Requires Adobe Flash player. In Hebrew.Click on 'login' on the home page taskbar to get to search screen on the right sidebar to gain access.
Contains about 141,000 documents, and more than 15,000 biographies of authors, covering more than 90% of all books published in Hebrew languages from the years 1470-1960 Features a complete list of books in Hebrew and books with text in Ladino and Yiddish, as well lesser-known Jewish languages such as Judeo-Arabic, Bucharit, Judeo-Greek, Judeo-Afrikaans and Judeo-Kurdish.
Searching Library Catalogs
Use OskiCat to locate materials related to your topic, including books, government publications, and audio and video recordings, in the libraries of UC Berkeley. OskiCat will show you the location and availability of the items that we own. See the guide for suggestions on constructing your searches.
Use Melvyl to locate materials related to your topic located at other campuses in the UC system. Next Generation Melvyl also allows you to expand your search to libraries worldwide. Clicking on the REQUEST button in the detailed view of a catalog record prompt you to fill out a form to request the item through our Interlibrary Loan office.