Library Guides: Nutritional Sciences and Toxicology: Articles / Protocols

Best databases for articles and more

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Embase This link opens in a new window
Search for biomedical literature citations. Embase is a key resource for conducting systematic reviews and researching evidence-based medicine. [dates vary]
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses. [1912 - present]
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Global Index Medicus This link opens in a new window
Access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries; full text available for nearly half of the citations in this database.
"Search all of WHO's Regional Indexes Medici together. The contents of the Global Index Medicus (GIM) come from the Regional Indexes Medici, coordinated by each WHO Regional Office:
African Index Medicus
Scientific and Technical Literature of Latin America and the Caribbean
Index Medicus for Eastern Mediterranean Region
Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region
Western Pacific Region Index Medicus "
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

Ovid Medline This link opens in a new window
The Ovid interface to MEDLINE. Citations and abstracts for articles published in medicine, life sciences, public health, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology, genetics, and more. [Mid-19th century - present]
MEDLINE is the core content that makes up PubMed and is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Features provided by Ovid are advanced mapping, which analyzes users' natural language queries and suggests appropriate terms for searching, and a thesaurus which automatically suggests synonymous or related terms and allows for expanded searching.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search biomedical literature citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. [1950 - present]
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It button for full text access. To use the free public version, please click here.

Use the PubMed link above to see 'Get it at UC' links to full text.
To learn how to use PubMed most effectively, see the this guide.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Toxline This link opens in a new window
Search for references from the toxicology literature covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals [Last 5 years + current year]
Indexes journals, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, conference papers, and reports in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the US National Library of Medicine, information is drawn from a number of sources including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology.
TRIP database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).

Find Journals and Full Text

Use Journal Search to find online or print access to a particular journal.
To find full text when searching in an article database, look for links:
To find full text from a citation, paste the citation into the search box in UC Library Search.

For items not available at UC Berkeley

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) Request books, articles, and other materials not available at UC Berkeley.

Non-UCB Borrowers:

See UCB Library's information on interlibrary lending and duplication services.

Recommend a Purchase:

Use this form to recommend purchases (books, etc.) or subscriptions.

Searching Tips and Lit Review Basics

Searching by topic
Material from Bio 1B on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
Helpful video from NCSU libraries. It's geared towards grad students but also relevant to anyone doing a thesis, capstone project, or other major research paper.

Keeping Current

To help you stay current with published research, set up automated alerts by topic, author, citation, or journal using these tools:

Using Alerts
How to keep up with your favorite journals.
Citation, Journal, and Search Alerts in Web of Science, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts
See tutorials under "Staying up to date"
Citation and Search Alerts in Scopus
Citation and Search Alerts in Google Scholar
Search Alerts in PubMed using MyNCBI
How to keep up with the scientific literature
Article from Science with some good tips

Finding Protocols

The following protocol resources contain the full text of current protocols in a variety of disciplines

Current Protocols This link opens in a new window
Experimental procedures in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, molecular biology, neuroscience, toxicology, and other research areas. Click "Journals" at the top of the page to see a full list of titles.
Provides access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series.
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Experimental procedures in biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, cancer biology, cell biology, genetics/genomics, imaging/radiology, infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular biology and medicine, neuroscience, pharmacology/toxicology, plant sciences, and protein science.
Online versions of Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Content includes biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Bio-protocol
Open access, peer-reviewed life science protocols organized by field and by organism.

JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
JoVE publishes scientific research in a visual format to help researchers learn new experimental techniques and help make research more transparent and reproducible.

Methods in Enzymology

Protocols.io This link opens in a new window
A repository of shared protocols submitted by researchers.
Note: UC students, faculty, and staff have access to premium features such as unlimited private group files, shared notebook records, unlimited storage, and protocol import assistance. For more information about signing up for your free Premium account, please visit this page.

Secondary menu